Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,502 pages of information and 233,941 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

Great Central and Midland Joint Railway

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search

1897 The Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire and Midland Joint Railway, a collection of joint railways mainly in the Manchester and South Yorkshire areas, was renamed the Great Central and Midland Joint Railway. Because the MS&LR was known generally as "The Sheffield Company" the joint company was usually referred to as "The Sheffield and Midland Joint Committee".

In the South Yorkshire area most of the lines were colliery branches, where the companies joined forces to tap the coal measures and gain a foothold in the lucrative traffic. The main line within South Yorkshire was in two sections:

  • 2. Leaving the Great Central, Hull and Barnsley and Midland Joint Railway at Braithwell a line to both the Midland and former M.S.& L.R. lines in the Kilnhurst and Parkgate (Roundwood) area, much of this originally being built by the colliery company and being known locally, from 1910, as John Brown's Private Railway , linking their Silverwood Colliery to the staithes on the River Don and incorporated into the Rotherham, Maltby and Laughton Railway, which became a constituent of the G.C. & M. Joint.

Also included in the joint committee were short curves linking the partners lines.

In Manchester, most of these lines were on the eastern side of the city:

  • 1. From Ashbury Junction, on the Woodhead Line, to New Mills where a branch line took the Great Central to Hayfield whilst the main section went to New Mills South Junction and joined the Midland line to Derby or Sheffield, via Chinley.
  • 2. From the Woodhead line at Hyde Junction to Romily Junction, an alternative line (and diversion) from above.

1923 At grouping these lines became joint part of London and North Eastern Railway (LNER) and the London, Midland and Scottish Railway (LMS)

See Also


Sources of Information