Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 132,804 pages of information and 210,387 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
Hamlet Roberts (1853-1905)
1906 Obituary 
HAMLET ROBERTS, born on the 3rd June, 1853, served his articles in the engineering department of the Pearson Knowles Coal and Iron Company, Warrington, at the expiration of which, in 1874, he obtained employment on the staff of the Gas and Water Engineer of Birkenhead.
After 6 years’ experience at Birkenhead, he secured the appointment of Superintendent of the Dover water supply, a position which he held until 1891, when he resigned to take charge of the erection of the Colonial Sanitary Engineering Works at Dronfield.
On the completion of these works, Mr. Roberts was appointed Waterworks Engineer of Ipswich, a post which he retained until his death. The water undertaking had recently been purchased by the Corporation from the Ipswich Waterworks Company and needed improvement in various directions, work to which Mr. Roberts devoted his best energies. The works and machinery having become inadequate to meet the growing needs of the town, considerable extensions became necessary and were carried out under his active supervision. These included the erection of a new pumping-plant, duplicated several years later, for which he designed and built large engine- and boiler-houses, the extension of the mains throughout the borough, and the design and construction of an additional service reservoir, having a capacity of 4fr million gallons. These works were completed and the water-supply brought into efficient working order, but whilst engaged in testing mains which were to be laid to give winter work to the unemployed,
Mr. Roberts, who never enjoyed robust health, caught a severe chill. This developed into pleuropneumonia, from which he died on the 12th October, 1905, aged 52.
He was elected an Associate Member of the Institution on the 2nd March, 1897.