Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 132,806 pages of information and 210,387 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
Belonged to the Birmingham Corporation
1927 Work on construction of the Hams Hall "A" station began; the station opened in 1929. Initially the capacity was 60 megawatts, subsequently increased to 90 megawatts.
1938 The experience gained in the design and operation of the Hams Hall "A" and Nechells power stations was used in the design of Hams Hall "B" station, which was begun in 1938
1939 The "A" station was completed with a capacity of 249.45 megawatts.
1942 Hams Hall "B" station opened
1943 The final turbo-alternator was commissioned.