Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 134,016 pages of information and 212,992 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
John Angus Hay (1870-1946)
1947 Obituary 
"JOHN ANGUS HAY, whose death occurred on 11th November 1946, had spent almost the whole of his engineering career with Messrs. Dick Kerr and Company, Ltd., engineers and contractors, in the long course of which he was responsible for the execution of many important contracts in connection with electric railways and tramway undertakings. In addition he was frequently called upon by his firm to examine and report on numerous other schemes for electric traction in this country. A constructional engineer of more than ordinary ability, he not only entirely rebuilt the Necker Bridge over the Grand Surrey Canal, and the Stanley Bridge over Chelsea Creek for the London County Council, but also found his services in frequent requisition by various County and Urban District Councils in the vicinity of London.
Mr. Hay was born in 1870, and attended classes at the University of Aberdeen. From there he proceeded to Edinburgh, and took courses in applied mechanics at Heriot-Watt College, and in engineering at the University. His apprenticeship was served from 1890 to 1893 with Messrs. D. and C. Stevenson, engineers to the Northern Lighthouse Board, Edinburgh, with whom he gained experience in the drawing office. Subsequently he worked abroad on various projects, particularly on reservoirs, bridges, and railways, and returned in 1917 to work on hydro-electric power stations at York, Blackburn, Preston, Peterborough, and Leicester. He proceeded to the Sudan, in connection with work on the Nile bridge, some time before his retirement. He was elected an Associate Member of the Institution in 1905 and was transferred to Membership in 1909."