Grace's Guide

British Industrial History

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 133,419 pages of information and 211,645 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

John Galloway (1861-1925)

From Graces Guide

Jump to: navigation, search

John Galloway (1861-1925)



1925 Obituary [1]

JOHN GALLOWAY was born at Eassie, Forfarshire, on 20th July 1861 and received his early education in Dundee.

He served his apprenticeship with Messrs. James Paterson and Co., engineers, of that city, and during his indentures amplified his training in technical matters by attending local science classes.

He then spent some time gaining fresh experience in the works of Messrs. Gourlay Brothers, and with Mr. W. B. Thomson, of the Tay Foundry, Dundee.

In 1884 he left Scotland to take up a four-years' engagement with the Howrah Jute Mills, and on its termination he joined the Camperdown Pressing Co., Ltd., as manager, a position he held until January 1893, when he transferred his services to the Calcutta Hydraulic Press Company at Cossipore.

Soon after his joining, a disastrous fire destroyed the Company's premises, and to Mr. Galloway fell the task of designing and rebuilding the new works.

A few years later, in 1899, he planned the Chandpur Pressing Company's buildings, and later on their electric pressing plant.

Mr. Galloway acted as engineer and manager to all the hydraulic pressing companies under the agency control of Messrs. Andrew Yule and Co., of Calcutta, and acted also as consultant to various outside businesses, his experience in such matters bringing him into much request.

When Mr. Galloway left India in 1919 and retired to take up his residence in his native land at Tayport, Fife, he still acted as consultant for Messrs. Yule and Co. in respect to various developments and new installations.

Indifferent health, however, gradually checked these professional activities, and he died on 24th March 1925.

He joined this Institution as an Associate Member in 1911 and was transferred to Membership in 1919.



See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information