St. Nicholas Priory, Exeter

Situated in The Mint
Between 1575 and 1602, the building was turned into an impressive Elizabethan town house. After that the building became subdivided into houses and businesses.
Between 1820 and 1913, the Priory was divided into five lots of premises and all were given entrance doors and new windows.
1913 Exeter Corporation bought the Priory to restore it to show its original monastic architecture. It was opened to the public as a small museum three years later.