Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,415 pages of information and 233,868 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
Tom Wood (1877-1938) of T. Hood and Co
Born the son of William John Scott Hood, Fish Dealer.
1938 Obituary 
Tom Hood was in business as a consulting engineer in Bristol, where he established the firm of T. Hood and Company, Ltd., of which he was managing director for many years.
Mr. Hood was born at Grimsby in 1877 and served a five years' apprenticeship, beginning in 1892, with Messrs. Earle's Shipbuilding and Engineering Company, Ltd., Hull, and subsequently entered the drawing office. During 1898-9 he gained further practical experience as an electrician with the General Steam Navigation Company, Ltd., and as an erector with Messrs. Willing Brothers, Ltd., of London. He then became a partner in the Bristol firm of Drewett and Hood, engineers, of Bristol, and held this position until he went into business on his own account.
During the War he lectured on mechanical engineering subjects to mining students at the Merchant Venturers' Technical College. Mr. Hood carried out a considerable amount of work as technical adviser to various paper mills, breweries, and other factories. He was also responsible for the design and equipment of several small electricity undertakings in the West of England, including those at Sidmouth, Budleigh Salterton, Bridport, and Downside Abbey, near Bath. He also planned the 11 kV. electrical system for the Warmley district, where power was taken in bulk from the West Gloucestershire Power Company, Ltd.
Mr. Hood was elected an Associate Member of the Institution in 1927, and was also a Member of the Institution of Electrical Engineers. His death occurred in Bristol on 4th April 1938.
[[Category: Institution of Electrical Engineers}