Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 133,119 pages of information and 210,773 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
William George Jones (1858-1892)
1892 Obituary 
WILLIAM GEORGE JONES, only son of the late Mr. George Jones of Cardiff, was born on the 20th of Deceuber. 1858. and educated at Manilla Hall, Clifton, under Dr. Hudson.
On the completion in 1880 of his apprenticeship, he remained in the service of the Taff Vale Railway Company for eighteen months as a draughtsman. For the purpose of extending his experience, he then went to Palmer’s Shipbuilding and Engineering Works at Jarrow-on-Tyne, which he left in January, 1881, to superintend the building, at the yard of Ramage and Fergusson, Leith, of the iron steam-yacht 'Iolanthe,' for his uncle, T. J. Waller.
In 1882 Mr. Jones joined the engineering staff of the Taff Vale Railway under H. Oakden Fisher, and for nine years was engaged in surveying, levelling, preparing designs for hydraulic coal-tips, station-buildings and bridges, and in carrying out the construction of the fourth line of railway between Cardiff and Pontypridd. In addition to this he was occupied in preparing estimates and specifications, in taking out quantities, and in making surveys, taking levels, and preparing Parliamentary plans for new lines.
In 1891 Mr. Jones entered the engineering department of the Midland Railway at Derby. He had, however, scarcely commenced the duties of his appointment there before he was attacked by influenza ; complications arose, and the illness proved fatal on the 30th of January, 1892.
Mr. Jones was a man of great firmness of character, energetic and painstaking in his work, and an excellent draughtsman. He was elected an Associate Member of the Institution on the 6th of December, 1887.