William Hill Smith
William Hill Smith (1861-1931)
1931 Obituary 
WILLIAM HILL SMITH was born at Halifax in 1861 and was apprenticed with Messrs. Pollit and Wigzell of Sowerby Bridge.
After further experience at a large marine engineering works on the north-east coast, both on land and at sea, he joined his brother and Mr. William Eastwood in 1890 in founding the firm of Smith Brothers and Eastwood at Bradford. The firm manufactured stationary Corliss engines, an entirely new design of horizontal air-pump condenser, patented by the firm, which proved very efficient, and refrigerating plant, but in 1902 the business had to be closed down owing to inadequate capital reserves.
From that time until his death, 19th January 1931, Mr. Smith devoted himself to the sale of steam-saving appliances and the design and erection of main steam- pipe installations and superheaters, in which he was for some years associated with the late Mr. J. Hannan.
Mr. Smith had been a Member of the Institution since 1900.