Coed Ithel Furnace: Difference between revisions
Created page with "near Tintern in the Wye Valley Note: Although there are some remains of the blast furnace walls, seeking them out is NOT recommended. Although the ruins are near the main roa..." |
No edit summary |
||
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
near Tintern in the Wye Valley | near Tintern in the Wye Valley | ||
Note: Although there are some remains of the blast furnace walls, seeking them out is NOT recommended. Although the ruins are near the main road, they are not visible and there is no possible access from this dangerous road. The only access to the site is by descending the steep slippery, rocky hillside from above, through considerable undergrowth. | Note: Although there are some remains of the blast furnace walls, seeking them out is NOT recommended. Although some of the ruins are near the main road (A466), they are not visible and there is no possible access from this dangerous road. The only access to the site is by descending the steep slippery, rocky hillside from above, through considerable undergrowth. | ||
Recent photos of the remains may be seen on the <ref>[http://www.aditnow.co.uk/Album/Photographs-Of-Coed-Ithel-Furnace_26703/] Aditnow website - Photographs of Coed Ithel Blast Furnace Iron Smelt Mill</ref> | |||
The site was excavated by R F Tylecote in 1966. He found that the base was 24 ft square, and the height would have been just over 20 ft. The blast from the bellows would have entered about 18 inches above the bottom of the hearth. It usedore from the Forest of Dean, charcoal and bloomery slag. Limestone was not included in the charge. The furnace was in use in 1651. The average weekly output was 18 tons in the period 1672-6. It lasted until the beginning of the 18th C, but was not included in the 1717 list of blast furnaces.<ref>'Mines, Mills and Furnaces' by D. Morgan Rees, HMSO, 1969</ref> | The site was excavated by R F Tylecote in 1966. He found that the base was 24 ft square, and the height would have been just over 20 ft. The blast from the bellows would have entered about 18 inches above the bottom of the hearth. It usedore from the Forest of Dean, charcoal and bloomery slag. Limestone was not included in the charge. The furnace was in use in 1651. The average weekly output was 18 tons in the period 1672-6. It lasted until the beginning of the 18th C, but was not included in the 1717 list of blast furnaces.<ref>'Mines, Mills and Furnaces' by D. Morgan Rees, HMSO, 1969</ref> |
Revision as of 09:20, 13 March 2016
near Tintern in the Wye Valley
Note: Although there are some remains of the blast furnace walls, seeking them out is NOT recommended. Although some of the ruins are near the main road (A466), they are not visible and there is no possible access from this dangerous road. The only access to the site is by descending the steep slippery, rocky hillside from above, through considerable undergrowth.
Recent photos of the remains may be seen on the [1]
The site was excavated by R F Tylecote in 1966. He found that the base was 24 ft square, and the height would have been just over 20 ft. The blast from the bellows would have entered about 18 inches above the bottom of the hearth. It usedore from the Forest of Dean, charcoal and bloomery slag. Limestone was not included in the charge. The furnace was in use in 1651. The average weekly output was 18 tons in the period 1672-6. It lasted until the beginning of the 18th C, but was not included in the 1717 list of blast furnaces.[2]