Quaking Bridge (Oxford): Difference between revisions
Created page with "The present bridge has cast iron arches made by Cort and Co of Leicester in 1835. It replaced a wooden bridge, which was perhaps the origin of the name. The bridge has been wi..." |
No edit summary |
||
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
The present bridge has cast iron arches made by Cort | The present bridge has cast iron arches made by [[James and Benjamin Cort|Cort & Co]] of Leicester in 1835. It replaced a wooden bridge, which was perhaps the origin of the name. The bridge has been widened and presumably strengthened since 1835. | ||
The bridge crosses Castle Mill Stream in the centre of Oxford, in a historically interesting area which includes the castle, the old jail, and the remains of Morrell's Brewery. | The bridge crosses Castle Mill Stream in the centre of Oxford, in a historically interesting area which includes the castle, the old jail, and the remains of Morrell's Brewery. |
Revision as of 11:05, 19 November 2017
The present bridge has cast iron arches made by Cort & Co of Leicester in 1835. It replaced a wooden bridge, which was perhaps the origin of the name. The bridge has been widened and presumably strengthened since 1835.
The bridge crosses Castle Mill Stream in the centre of Oxford, in a historically interesting area which includes the castle, the old jail, and the remains of Morrell's Brewery.