Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 148,469 pages of information and 233,894 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
William John Taylor (1889-1948)
1949 Obituary 
"Captain WILLIAM JOHN TAYLOR, R.E.M.E., was born in 1889 and served his apprenticeship with Messrs. Thomas Parker, Ltd., electrical and general engineers, of Wolverhampton, from 1903 to 1908, meanwhile attending classes in engineering at the Wolverhampton Technical College. After four years' experience in the engine works of the Sunbeam Motor Car Company he spent the next three years at the Whitehead Torpedo Works at Weymouth.
From 1915 to 1921 he held short appointments with various engineering firms including the Coventry Ordnance Works, Ltd., and Messrs. Guy Motors, Ltd., at Wolverhampton. He was then granted a commission in the R.A.O.C. and served as O.C. vehicle repair shops. On his transference to the R.E.M.E. in 1942 he was posted with the rank of captain to Warminster, Wilts, where he was responsible for the repair of a large number of vehicles and the supervision of the ancillary trade shops. Five years later he resigned his commission and joined the staff of Reconstruction Supplies, Ltd., at Romsey, Hants, as plant engineer. Captain Taylor, whose death occurred on 22nd May 1948, was elected an Associate of the Institution in 1943."