Allan, Cockshut and Co


1812 Founded by John Allan (or Allen) in partnership with William Parry, a paperhanger, of 55, Bow Lane. They commenced block printing in a room in Hackney Road, Old Ford, London. It traded in the name of Parry & Allan until 1825, when the business was taken over by Allan.
1846 Following the introduction of rotary machine-printing the firm acquired two machines, and Allan and his sons John Charles and George William, who were now in partnership with him, and moved to new premises, comprising about ten acres on the banks if the river Lea at Old Ford.
1870 John Allan died.
1872 The need for more room to deal with an expanding business caused the firm to acquire a new site, which was formerly a gravel pit. A new and up-to-date mill was erected, containing four large machine-shops with the requisite drying rooms.
1874 Pressure from a flourishing business necessitated a further move to a new and specifically built factory in Wick Lane.
John Allan the second died in 1876 and his brother George, who became sole proprietor, continued to prosper and accumulated a considerable fortune with which he retired in 1888.
1888 The business, with its 200 employees, was sold to the brothers John and James Cockshut, both of whom had gained considerable experience of the trade at "Potters" in Darwen and at "Lightbowns" in Pendleton.
When about twenty years of age the Cockshut brothers had joined their uncle, Henry Lightbown, at Pendleton, and there passed through all the different phases of factory experience.
John Cockshut ultimately was drafted from the factory at Pendleton to the newly-opened London warehouse in Cannon Street, where he took full control whilst continuing to supply his brother with suggestions and to collaborate with him on designs. John's son, Harry, was during this time coming to the front as a young salesman of exceptional promise and assisted his father in London, particularly with the shipping business. In 1888 they left Lightbown's to take command of the Allan factory, and the title of the firm was changed to Allan, Cockshut & Co.
1897 The firm bought up the rights of manufacture of Lignomur, which soon proved a most successful venture. This was followed by the making of "Old Ford Lincrusta," which a few years later was transferred to the Lincrusta-Walton works at Sunbury.
1899 The business became part of Wall Paper Manufacturers (WPM), John, James and Harry Cockshut joining the board, and John being chairman of the company in its second year.
This branch would make a notable contribution to WPM's export trade - particularly the Indian and Chinese markets.
The partnership between the brothers Cockshut came to an end in 1905 by the death of James, and John the survivor suffered a severe blow in 1909 in the death of his only son, Harry.
John Cockshut continued to direct the Old Ford business, aided by his two nephews, Cheetham and Percy.
After John Cockshut's death in 1912, E. W. Walker joined the younger Cockshuts on the board of the Wall Paper Manufacturers Ltd.
Not long after the outbreak of World War II the key personnel of the factory were transferred to the Lightbrown Aspinall branch at Bredbury, from where they continued to serve the Allan Cockshut branch. The premises at Old Ford were at the time in charge of maintenance and fire-watching staff, but in 1942 were again brought into use for the production of munitions, while a portion of the building was converted into a Royal Army Ordnance Corps store.
1947 Allan Cockshut died.
1947 Frank K. Sugden was appointed company director.