Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 142,536 pages of information and 227,936 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.
Wood, Skinner and Co of Bill Quay, Newcastle-on-Tyne
1883 James Skinner and William Wood opened the Tyne yard with six slipways, in 1883 at Bill Quay. Both of the business partners had experience working for other well-known shipbuilders (Skinner worked for Coutts Low Walker yard and Wood for Schlesinger, Davies and Co). The shipyard expanded to eight slipways in the 1920s.
1883 Initially the yard built coasters and short-sea traders, largely for Scandinavian companies.
1889 The yard also made ships for the Burnett Steamship Co of Newcastle. The small steamer Angelus was the first of 30 colliers and short-sea traders to come from the yard. Burnett had a strong working relationship with Wood, Skinner & Co. Ltd for 32 years. It only came to an end when Wood, Skinner went into liquidation in 1925.
1897 Incorporated as a limited company.
1901 This was one of the best years for the yard. 11 vessels launched ranging in size from small tramps to trawlers.
1911 Built the vehicular ferry South Shields for the Tyne Improvement Commission. The vessel operated until the 1970s (see photo of model)
1914 Directory: Listed as Ship Builders of Bill Quay, Newcastle. 
1914 Listed as shipbuilders and repairers. 
1917 WW1 output included 12 self trimming colliers, two "Insect" class boats and six WAR 'C' and 'D' ships.
1925 The yard failed financially having built 330 small vessels and maintaining a reputation for building colliers.