Quaking Bridge (Oxford): Difference between revisions
No edit summary |
No edit summary |
||
Line 16: | Line 16: | ||
[[Category: Town - Oxford]] | [[Category: Town - Oxford]] | ||
[[Category: Bridges and Viaducts]] | [[Category: Bridges and Viaducts]] | ||
[[Category: Cast Iron Arch Bridges]] | |||
[[Category: Early Iron Bridges]] | [[Category: Early Iron Bridges]] |
Latest revision as of 20:14, 19 January 2018



The present bridge has cast iron arches made by Cort & Co of Leicester in 1835. It replaced a wooden bridge, which was perhaps the origin of the name. The bridge has been widened and presumably strengthened since 1835.
The bridge crosses Castle Mill Stream in the centre of Oxford, in a historically interesting area which includes the castle, the old jail, and the remains of Morrell's Brewery.