Kennall Gunpowder Co: Difference between revisions
No edit summary |
No edit summary |
||
Line 12: | Line 12: | ||
1898 Incorporated in [[Curtis's and Harvey]] | 1898 Incorporated in [[Curtis's and Harvey]] | ||
Kennall Vale is now a nature reserve managed by the Cornwall Wildlife Trust, with a number of footpaths giving access to the remains of various buildings and watercourses. Most of the buildings were constructed from 1844 onwards. Currently (2019), walkers are cautioned not to use the path which leads past a series of seven grinding mills. The mill buildings are constructed from large granite blocks, and each had a central overshot waterwheel driving grinding mills on each side of the wheel. One mill still has the remains of the wheel and some of its gearing. | Kennall Vale is now a nature reserve managed by the Cornwall Wildlife Trust, with a number of footpaths giving access to the remains of various buildings and watercourses. Most of the buildings were constructed from 1844 onwards. Currently (2019), walkers are cautioned not to use the path which leads past a series of seven grinding mills. The mill buildings are constructed from large granite blocks, and each had a central overshot waterwheel driving grinding mills on each side of the wheel. One mill still has the remains of the wheel and some of its gearing. The waterwheel was made by [[F. Dingey]] of Truro. | ||
== See Also == | == See Also == |
Latest revision as of 22:38, 21 May 2019
of Kennall Vale, Cornwall, maker of gunpowder.
The Kennall Gunpowder mill, established in 1812, was owned by Benjamin Sampson.
Early 19th century: acquired neighbouring Cosawes Gunpowder Mills
Thereafter both mills continued to expand their business, despite frequent fires and explosions. In addition to supplying explosives for mining purposes, they made considerable quantities of powder for sporting use.
c.1880 The growth of the dynamite industry spelt the end for Cornish gunpowder.
1898 Incorporated in Curtis's and Harvey
Kennall Vale is now a nature reserve managed by the Cornwall Wildlife Trust, with a number of footpaths giving access to the remains of various buildings and watercourses. Most of the buildings were constructed from 1844 onwards. Currently (2019), walkers are cautioned not to use the path which leads past a series of seven grinding mills. The mill buildings are constructed from large granite blocks, and each had a central overshot waterwheel driving grinding mills on each side of the wheel. One mill still has the remains of the wheel and some of its gearing. The waterwheel was made by F. Dingey of Truro.
See Also
Sources of Information
- The Times, Dec 10, 1898