Grace's Guide To British Industrial History

Registered UK Charity (No. 1154342)

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 167,723 pages of information and 247,131 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 147,919 pages of information and 233,587 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

Allan, Cockshut and Co: Difference between revisions

From Graces Guide
RozB (talk | contribs)
No edit summary
JohnD (talk | contribs)
No edit summary
Line 2: Line 2:
[[image:Im20170502RB-WPM34a.jpg |thumb| c1940s. Frank K. Sugden.]]
[[image:Im20170502RB-WPM34a.jpg |thumb| c1940s. Frank K. Sugden.]]


1812 Founded by John Allan when he commenced block printing in a room in Hackney Road, Old Ford, London.
1812 Founded by John Allan (or Allen) in  partnership  with  William  Parry,  a  paperhanger,  of  55,  Bow  Lane. They commenced block printing in a room in Hackney Road, Old Ford, London. It  traded  in the  name  of  Parry  &  Allan  until  1825,  when  the  business  was  taken  over  by  Allan.  


1846 Allan and his sons John Charles and George William, who were now in partnership with him, moved to a new premises, comprising about ten acres on the banks if the river Lea.
1846 Following  the  introduction  of  rotary  machine-printing  the  firm  acquired  two  machines, and Allan and his sons John Charles and George William, who were now in partnership with him,  
and  moved to new premises, comprising about ten acres on the banks if the river Lea at Old  Ford.


1870 John Allan died.
1870 John Allan died.
1872 The  need  for  more  room  to  deal  with  an expanding  business  caused  the  firm  to  acquire  a new  site,  which  was  formerly
a  gravel  pit. A  new  and  up-to-date  mill  was  erected,  containing  four  large  machine-shops  with  the
requisite  drying  rooms.


1874 Pressure from a flourishing business necessitated a further move to a new and specifically built factory in Wick Lane.
1874 Pressure from a flourishing business necessitated a further move to a new and specifically built factory in Wick Lane.


1888 The business, with its 200 employees was sold to the brothers Cockshut, both of whom had gained considerable experience of the trade at "Potters" in Darwen adn at "Lightbowns" in Pendleton.
John  Allan  the  second  died  in  1876  and  his  brother  George,  who  became  sole  proprietor,
continued  to  prosper  and  accumulated  a  considerable  fortune  with  which  he  retired  in
1888.
 
1888 The business, with its 200 employees, was sold to the brothers John
and  James  Cockshut, both of whom had gained considerable experience of the trade at "Potters" in Darwen and at "Lightbowns" in Pendleton.
 
When  about  twenty  years  of  age  the Cockshut brothers had  joined  their  uncle,
[[Henry  Lightbown]],  at  Pendleton,  and  there  passed  through
all  the  different  phases  of  factory  experience. 
 
John Cockshut ultimately  was  drafted  from  the  factory  at  Pendleton  to  the  newly-opened  London
warehouse  in  Cannon  Street,  where  he  took  full  control  whilst  continuing  to  supply  his
brother  with  suggestions  and  to  collaborate  with  him  on  designs.  John's
son,  Harry,  was  during  this  time  coming  to  the  front  as  a  young  salesman  of  exceptional
promise  and  assisted  his  father  in  London,  particularly  with  the  shipping  business.  In
1888  they  left  Lightbown's  to  take  command  of  the  Allan  factory,  and  the  title  of  the
firm  was  changed  to  Allan,  Cockshut  &  Co.
 
1897  The  firm  bought  up  the  rights  of  manufacture
of  ''Lignomur'',  which
soon  proved  a  most  successful  venture.  This  was  followed
by  the  making  of  "Old  Ford  Lincrusta,"  which  a  few
years  later  was  transferred  to  the  [[Lincrusta|Lincrusta-Walton]]
works  at    Sunbury.  


1899 The business became part of [[Wall Paper Manufacturers]] (WPM), of which John Cockshut was appointed Chairman in its second year.
1899 The business became part of [[Wall Paper Manufacturers]] (WPM), John,  James  and  Harry  Cockshut joining  the  board,  and  John  being  chairman  of  the company  in   its   second   year.  


This branch would make a notable contribution to WPM's export trade - particularly the Indian and Chinese markets.
This branch would make a notable contribution to WPM's export trade - particularly the Indian and Chinese markets.
The  partnership  between  the  brothers  Cockshut  came  to  an  end  in  1905  by  the
death  of  James,  and  John  the  survivor  suffered  a  severe  blow  in  1909
in  the  death  of  his  only  son,  Harry.
John  Cockshut  continued  to  direct  the  Old  Ford  business,  aided  by  his  two  nephews,
Cheetham  and  Percy. 
After  John  Cockshut's  death in 1912,  E.  W.  Walker  joined  the  younger  Cockshuts  on  the  board  of  the  Wall  Paper  Manufacturers  Ltd.


Not long after the outbreak of World War II the key personnel of the factory were transferred to the Lightbrown Aspinall branch at Bredbury, from where they continued to serve the Allan Cockshut branch. The premises at Old Ford were at the time in charge of maintenance and fire-watching staff, but in 1942 were again brought into use for the production of munitions, while a portion of the building was converted into a Royal Army Ordnance Corps store.
Not long after the outbreak of World War II the key personnel of the factory were transferred to the Lightbrown Aspinall branch at Bredbury, from where they continued to serve the Allan Cockshut branch. The premises at Old Ford were at the time in charge of maintenance and fire-watching staff, but in 1942 were again brought into use for the production of munitions, while a portion of the building was converted into a Royal Army Ordnance Corps store.

Revision as of 12:42, 5 January 2023

c1940s. Works.
c1940s. Frank K. Sugden.

1812 Founded by John Allan (or Allen) in partnership with William Parry, a paperhanger, of 55, Bow Lane. They commenced block printing in a room in Hackney Road, Old Ford, London. It traded in the name of Parry & Allan until 1825, when the business was taken over by Allan.

1846 Following the introduction of rotary machine-printing the firm acquired two machines, and Allan and his sons John Charles and George William, who were now in partnership with him, and moved to new premises, comprising about ten acres on the banks if the river Lea at Old Ford.

1870 John Allan died.

1872 The need for more room to deal with an expanding business caused the firm to acquire a new site, which was formerly a gravel pit. A new and up-to-date mill was erected, containing four large machine-shops with the requisite drying rooms.

1874 Pressure from a flourishing business necessitated a further move to a new and specifically built factory in Wick Lane.

John Allan the second died in 1876 and his brother George, who became sole proprietor, continued to prosper and accumulated a considerable fortune with which he retired in 1888.

1888 The business, with its 200 employees, was sold to the brothers John and James Cockshut, both of whom had gained considerable experience of the trade at "Potters" in Darwen and at "Lightbowns" in Pendleton.

When about twenty years of age the Cockshut brothers had joined their uncle, Henry Lightbown, at Pendleton, and there passed through all the different phases of factory experience.

John Cockshut ultimately was drafted from the factory at Pendleton to the newly-opened London warehouse in Cannon Street, where he took full control whilst continuing to supply his brother with suggestions and to collaborate with him on designs. John's son, Harry, was during this time coming to the front as a young salesman of exceptional promise and assisted his father in London, particularly with the shipping business. In 1888 they left Lightbown's to take command of the Allan factory, and the title of the firm was changed to Allan, Cockshut & Co.

1897 The firm bought up the rights of manufacture of Lignomur, which soon proved a most successful venture. This was followed by the making of "Old Ford Lincrusta," which a few years later was transferred to the Lincrusta-Walton works at Sunbury.

1899 The business became part of Wall Paper Manufacturers (WPM), John, James and Harry Cockshut joining the board, and John being chairman of the company in its second year.

This branch would make a notable contribution to WPM's export trade - particularly the Indian and Chinese markets.

The partnership between the brothers Cockshut came to an end in 1905 by the death of James, and John the survivor suffered a severe blow in 1909 in the death of his only son, Harry.

John Cockshut continued to direct the Old Ford business, aided by his two nephews, Cheetham and Percy.

After John Cockshut's death in 1912, E. W. Walker joined the younger Cockshuts on the board of the Wall Paper Manufacturers Ltd.

Not long after the outbreak of World War II the key personnel of the factory were transferred to the Lightbrown Aspinall branch at Bredbury, from where they continued to serve the Allan Cockshut branch. The premises at Old Ford were at the time in charge of maintenance and fire-watching staff, but in 1942 were again brought into use for the production of munitions, while a portion of the building was converted into a Royal Army Ordnance Corps store.

1947 Allan Cockshut died.

1947 Frank K. Sugden was appointed company director.

See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information

  • 1899-1949 The Pattern of a Great Organisation - The Wall Paper Manufacturers Limited.