Thetford Town Bridge: Difference between revisions
No edit summary |
No edit summary |
||
Line 1: | Line 1: | ||
[[Image:JD Thetford01.jpg|thumb|1]] | |||
[[Image:JD Thetford02.jpg|thumb|2]] | |||
[[Image:JD Thetford03.jpg|thumb|3]] | |||
[[Image:JD Thetford07.jpg|thumb|4]] | |||
[[Image:JD Thetford04.jpg|thumb|5]] | |||
[[Image:JD Thetford08.jpg|thumb|Don't tell him, Pike]] | |||
in Thetford, Norfolk | in Thetford, Norfolk | ||
Line 4: | Line 11: | ||
Designed by [[Francis Stone]] (County Surveyor) and constructed by [[Bough and Smith]] of London. Deck discretely strengthened in 1964 with reinforced concrete arches between the cast iron ribs.<ref>'Civil Engineering Heritage East Anglia' by Peter Cross-Rudkin, Phillimore & Co, 2010</ref> | Designed by [[Francis Stone]] (County Surveyor) and constructed by [[Bough and Smith]] of London. Deck discretely strengthened in 1964 with reinforced concrete arches between the cast iron ribs.<ref>'Civil Engineering Heritage East Anglia' by Peter Cross-Rudkin, Phillimore & Co, 2010</ref> | ||
Photo 2 shows the presence of square-headed countersunk fixings in the red-painted 'web' of the arch. | |||
== See Also == | == See Also == |
Revision as of 08:12, 25 June 2016






in Thetford, Norfolk
33 ft span cast iron bridge over the Little Ouse. Cast in 1829 at the nearby St Nicholas Works of Charles Burrell and Sons.
Designed by Francis Stone (County Surveyor) and constructed by Bough and Smith of London. Deck discretely strengthened in 1964 with reinforced concrete arches between the cast iron ribs.[1]
Photo 2 shows the presence of square-headed countersunk fixings in the red-painted 'web' of the arch.
See Also
Sources of Information
- ↑ 'Civil Engineering Heritage East Anglia' by Peter Cross-Rudkin, Phillimore & Co, 2010