Grace's Guide To British Industrial History

Registered UK Charity (No. 115342)

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 163,469 pages of information and 245,911 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

Grace's Guide is the leading source of historical information on industry and manufacturing in Britain. This web publication contains 147,919 pages of information and 233,587 images on early companies, their products and the people who designed and built them.

1908 Stock Exchange Year-Book: Miscellaneous Companies: B

From Graces Guide

Note: This is a sub-section of the 1908 Stock Exchange Year-Book

- A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Pdf50.jpg Full Entries PDF

Abbreviated entries (including processing errors)

  • B. Barnett, Limited. — Directors: L. Barnett (Managing Director), T. Broad, E. M. Ellis, and W. E. Lloyd. Secretary: A. Greenwood. Office: 319, High Holborn, W.C. —The company was registered June 17, 1898, to take over the business of goldsmith and jeweller of Mr. B. Barnett.
  • B. J. Border and Son, Limited.—Directors: Halley Stewart, M.P. (Chairman), A. McDougall, and P. M. Stewart (Managing Director). Secretary: E. A. Gooch. Office: 104, High Holborn, W.C.—The company was registered May 25, 1900, to acquire the lime, cement, and brick works, &c., of the firm of the same name.
  • B. Morris and Sons, Limited.—Directors: W. S. L. Schuster (Chairman), J. Duckworth, and T. J. May (Managing Director). Secretary: H. W. Jones. Office Half Moon Passage, Whitechapel, E.—The company was registered April 10,1885, to take over the business of the firm of the same name as tobacco manufacturers and importers, and on June 11, 1890, was re-registered in connection with a reduction of the capital by nearly £55,000
  • B. Vickerman and Sons, Limited.— Eirectoj's: A. V. Priestley, F. V. Priestley, J. Priestley (Managing Director), and J. Thornton. Secretary : R. Broadbent. Office: 82, John William Street, Huddersfield,—The company was registered May 16, 1888, to take over the business of the firm of the same name, woollen and worsted manufacturers.
  • Babcock and Wilcox, Limited.—Directors: J. Dewrance (Chairman), F. G. Bourne, W. D. Hoxie, C. A. Knight, J. H. Rosenthal (Managing Director), and A. T. Simpson. Secretary: W. Colls. Office: Oriel House, Farringdon Street, E.C.—The company was registered April 30, 1900, in reconstruction of a company of the same name registered June 26, 1891, to acquire the business of water-tube-steam boiler manufacturers, other than in the United States of America and Cuba, of the Babcock and Wilcox Company of New York, the capital in the reconstruction being largely increased.
  • Bagots, Hutton and Co., Limited.—Directors: J. Anderson (Chairman), T. 1. Darling, J. Hollwey, and O. Mitchell (Secretary). Office: 27-8, William Street, Dublin.— The company was registered March 13, 1894, to acquire the business of tea, wine, and general merchants of the firm of the same name.
  • Bahamas (Inagua) Sisal Plantation, Limited.—DirecJors .? A. R. Fowler (OEair- man) and H. V. Remnant. Office: 28, Victoria Street, S.AV.—The company was registered August 2, 1894, for the purpose of acquiring land, and planting and carrying on the cultivation of sisal hbre in the Bahama Islands, the properties owned covering an area of upwards of 6,000 acres freehold.
  • Bahia Central Sugar Factories, Limited.—All the assets of the company have been disposed of, in part satisfaction of the first mortgage debenture debt.
  • Bahia Tramway, Light and Power Company.— London Debenture Holders' Committee: G. Kitchen and W. Blender. London Office: 46, Threadneedle Street, E.G. Head Office: 80, Broadway, New York.—The company was formed under the laws of the State of Maine, U.S.A., in 1905 with the object of acquiring, constructing and developing tramways, and of supplying gas, electric light and power to the city of Bahia, Brazil, and the surrounding districts. The company has purchased the undertaking, known as the Garris Electricos tramway, constructed and operated under concession which runs until 1973, and has also acquired a majority of the bonds and shares of a Belgian company owning the exclusive right to manufacture and sell gas, and to distribute electric light and power in the city and suburbs, as well as a contract for the supply of public and private lighting until the termination of the concession in 1950. It is intended in the first place to develop the electric lighting and the smaller power demands, and subsequently to develop water power rights acquired and transmit the power to Bahia for the service of the company, and for sale to large power users. The gas plant has been increased and an electric light and power plant, operated by gas engines, has been installed.
  • Bainbridge and Co., Limited.—Directors: T. H. Bainbridge, G. A. Bainbridge, G. B. Bambridge, A. E. Bainbridge, and J. B. Bainbridge. Secretary: J. Heron. Office: Newcastle-on-Tyne.—The company was registered July 28, 1897, to take over the business of wholesale and retail drapers, &c., of the firm of the same name.
  • Baiss Brothers and Stevenson, Limited.—Directors: A. Baiss (Chairman), S. S. Baiss, and H. E. Stevenson (Managing Directors), and W. A. Baiss. Secretary: R. C. Spurr. Office: 4, Jewry Street, E.G.—The company was registered December 8, 1900, to acquire the business of Messrs Baiss Brothers and Co., with which had recently been amalgamated that of Messrs. H. E. Stevenson and Co., manufacturing chemists, distillers, &c.
  • Baker, Wardell and Co, Limited.—Directors : E. A. Schultz and J. D. Wardell. Secretary : T. H. Wisdom. Office: 76, Thomas Street, Dublin.—The company was registered May 11, 1898, to acquire a business of tea merchants.
  • Baku Russian Petroleum Co, thaited.—Directors: Col. I. Philipps, D.S.O., M.P. (Chairman), R. Barber, J. Booth, A. H. Drew, C. H. Moore, C. S. Watson, and J. B. Wimble. Secretary: A. S. Evens. Office: 28-31, Bishopsgate Street Within, E.C.—The company was registered June 4, 1898, to take over certain oil properties in Baku and district as going concerns.
  • Barclay and Sons, Limited. — Directors: H. Davenport (Chairman), G. having 12s. paid ; £19,171 of the ordinary capital has been subscribed and paid up ; and of the debentures £15,620 is outstanding, with 4| per cent, interest payable January 1 and July 1.
  • Baring Brothers and Co., Limited. — Directors : T. Baring, R. K. Hodgson, Lord Revelstoke, G. Farrer, and A. Mildmay. Managing Directors: The above-mentioned directors, W. B. Gair (Secretary), and S. M. Ward (Assistant-Secretary). Office: 8, Bishopsgate Street Within, E.C.—The company was registered November 24, 1890, to continue the business of the firm of this name.
  • Barker Brothers (Silversmiths), Limited.—Directors: W. L. Powell (Chairman), F. E. Barker, H. E. Barker, and F. Wallis (Joint Managing Directors), and F. J. S. Griffin. Secretary: D. Harper. Office: Unity Works, Constitution Hill, Birmingham.—The company was registered May 17, 1907, to acquire the business of silversmiths, &c., of Messrs. Barker Brothers.
  • Barlow and Jones, Limited.—Directors: J. R. Barlow (Chairman), J. Bell, W. H. Hoyle, and J. A. S. Lovatt. Secretary: T. L. Hill Office: 2, Portland Street, Manchester.—The company was registered March 16, 1900, in reconstruction on an enlarged scale of a company of the same name, registered December 18, 1874, to take over the business of cotton spinners, &c., of the firm of the same name.
  • Barnagore Jute Factory Co, Limited.—Directors: W. L. Alexander (Chairman), A. Harvey, J. Henderson, R. E. Henderson, A. G. Morgan, and H. T. Peter. Secretary: E. L. Storrar. Office: 28, Fenchurch Street, E.C.—The company was registered July 2, 1872, and owns factories near Calcutta.
  • Barnum and Bailey, Limited.—Directors: J. T. McCaddon (Chairman), W. W. Cole (Managing Director), D. A. Holmes, C. R. Hutchinson, F. B. Hutchinson, and G. 0. Starr. Secretary : R. C. Spurr. Office: 3, Crosby Square, E.C.—The company was registered February 13, 1899, to take over the circus properties, &c., of Messrs. Barnum and Bailey.
  • Baron Cigarette Machine Co, Limited.—Directors: Sir A. J. Newton, Bart. (Chairman), B. Baron (Managing Director), L. B. Baron, and S. Rosenwald. Secretary: E. H. Bell. Office: 8, St. James’s Place, Aldgate, E.C.—The company was registered August 13, 1896, to acquire certain patent rights. The South American, Australian, and New Zealand patents have since been disposed of
  • Barrenechea Nitrate Co, Limited.—Directors; H. W. Lowe (Chairman), F. G. Clarke, and R. E. Morris. Secretary: W. J. Welch. Office: 27, Leadenhall Street, E.C.— The company was registered December 19, 1903, to acquire properties in the Province of Tarapaca, Chili.
  • Barrett and Biers, Limited.—Directors: W. S. L. Schuster (Chairman), E. S. Crick, H. Steinem (Managing Director), H. J. Varley, and J. J. Varley. Secretary: F. J. Nye. Office: Wallis Road, Hackney Wick, E.—The company was registered October 8, 1897, to take over the business of manufacturers of screw stoppers and dealers in bottles, and to erect a factory to manufacture carbonic acid gas, &c., of a company of the same name, registered February 28, 1888.
  • Barrett’s Country Bottling Co, Limited.—Directors: E. Rawlings (Chairman), E. S. Crick, and J. J. Varley. Secretary: E. de Gruchy. Office: 16, Victoria Street, S.W.—The company was registered October 27, 1886, to take over the Bristol, Birmingham, and Manchester businesses of Barrett and Co., Limited. In 1889 the Bristol business was closed, and to cover a loss on this account 5s. per share was written off the capital.
  • Barry, Ostlere and Shepherd, Limited.—Directors: J. Barry (Chairman and Joint Managing Director), W. Sutton (Deputy-Chairman), J. E. Shepherd (Joint Managing Director), E. Batten, H. G. Finch, C. Mitchell, E. Ostlere, G. Whyte, and W. Wright. Secretary: J. Kellock. Assistant Secretary: P. O. Byrne. Office: Forth Works, Kirkcaldy. —The company was registered September 20, 1899, to take over the businesses of floorcloth and linoleum manufacturers of John Barry, Ostlere and Co., Limited, the Kirkcaldy Linoleum Co, Limited, and Messrs. Shepherd and Beveridge, with a controlling interest in a French company.
  • Barton Vineyard Co, Limited.—Directors J. Wilson (Chairman), Sir A. McDonald, H. Miller, and J. M. Rusk. Secretaries: Rusk and Miller. Office: 2, York Place, Edinburgh.—The company was registered March 22, 1907, and is a second reconstruction of the Barton Estate Co, Limited, which was registered June 13, 1887, to acquire a vineyard situated in Fresno County, California, and carry on the business of wine producers.
  • Basted Paper Mills Co, Limited.—Directors: C. R. Smith (Chairman), A. Monckton, S. L. Monckton, and R. D. R. Turner. Secretary: S. L. Green. Office : 189, Upper Thames Street, E.C.—The company was registered March 26,1886, to acquire the business of Messrs. Walter Monckton and Co., carried on at Basted, Sevenoaks.
  • Batchelar and Son, Limited.—Directors: F. W. Batchelar (Managing Director), J. Kendall, E. R. Simmons, and M. Taylor. Secretary: W. C. Easthaugh. Office: 41-7, North End, Croydon.—The company was registered July 22, 1896, to acquire the business of furniture removers, cabinet-makers, &c., of the firm of the same name.
  • Batey and Co., Limited.—Directors: Sir J. Pound, Bart. (Chairman), and J. Alabaster and R. J. Alabaster (Managing Directors). Secretary: W. J. Webb. Office: 216, Kingsland Road, N.E.—The company was registered December 17, 1886, to acquire the businesses of Messrs. Batey and Co. and J. and R. J. Alabaster, mineral water manufacturers. Other businesses have since been taken over.
  • Baths Club Co, Limited.—Directors: Lord Desborough (Chairman), H. Boulton, M.V.O., Rt. Hon. Sir J. Colomb, K.C.M.G., F. A. Holman, Hon. J. Mansfield, and C. W. Milne. Secretary: J. W. Taylor. Office: 34, Dover Street, W.—The company was registered December 11, 1891.
  • Baxter’s Leather Co, Limited.—Directors: W. Howard (Chairman), W. B. Hoffman (Assistant Managing Director), G. S. Miller, and H. D. Richardson (Managing Director). Secretary: O. S. Lee. Office: 4G-50, Tabernacle Street, E.C.—The company was registered November 24, 1896, as Baxter, Schenkelberger and Co., Limited, to acquire the business of leather importers of the firm of the same name, and in 1900 the name was changed as above.
  • Bayliss, Jones and Bayliss, Limited.—Directors: W. Bayliss (Chairman), H. W. Bayliss, S. Bayliss, R. M. Hyslop, and W. E. Jones. Secretary: H. H. Groves. Office: Victoria Works, Wolverhampton.—The company was registered June 12, 1901, to acquire a business of ironmasters, engineers, &c., of the firm of the same name.
  • Beaufort Motor Co, Limited.—Directors; A. V. Cowell, E. Mandeville, E. Michell, and R. Warner, Secretary: A. E. Oakley. 0ffice: 14, Baker Street, W.—The company was registered May 16, 1906, to acquire the business carried on under the title of the Beaufort Motor Company.
  • Bechuanaland Trading Association, Limited.—Directors: Lord Gifford, V.C., C. A. Garland, and T. J. Seel. Secretary: T. Donald. Office: 72, Basinghall Street, E.C. —The company was registered January 20, 1891, to take over the business of a company formed in 1889 under the same title, and to extend the basis of operations.
  • Belfast Rope Work Co, Limited.—Directors: G. W. Wolff, M.P. (Chairman), A. Combe, J. Malcolm, J. Rogers, and J. Sinclair. Secretary: J. Anderson. Office: Newtownards Road, Belfast.—The company was registered September 12, 1876.
  • Belgravia Dairy Co, Limited. — Directors: A. Brisco (Chairman), R. S. Gladstone, C. E. Legge, and F. Pitts (Managing Director). Secretary: S. Swift. Office: 4-6, Exhibition Road S.W.—The company was registered March 22,1881.
  • Belhaven Engineering and Motors, Limited.—Directors: J. Gill (Chairman), T. W. Elliott, T. Morton, and J. Morton. Secretary: J. G. Halbert. Office: Belhaven Works, Wishaw.—The company was registered May 4, 1907, for the purpose of carrying on the business of engineers and ironfounders, and of manufacturing motor vehicles of all kinds, and acquired the business of Robert Morton and Sons, Limited, registered September 10, 1901.
  • Bell and Nicolson, Limited.—Directors: S. Hollingsworth (Chairman), W. W. Bourne, and J. M. Nicolson (Managing Director). Secretary: T. A. Phillips. 0ffice: 23-5, Cannon Street, Birmingham.—The company was registered July 15, 1904, to acquire the business of the firm of the same name, Manchester and general warehousemen.
  • Bell Piano and Organ Co, Limited. —Director's: H. S. Foster (Chairman), G. B. Clark, M.D., C. A. R. Hutton, and C. E. Russell. Secretary : H. A. Grimsdick. Office: 82, Victoria Street, S.W.—The company was registered January 25, 1899, in reconstruction of a company of a similar name which was registered July 9, 1890, to take over the business of Messrs. W. Bell and Co., of Guelph, Ontario. In 1904 the words “Organ” and “Piano” in the title were reversed as above.
  • Belliss and Morcom, Limited.—Directors : A. E. Seaton (Chairman), T. H. Parrott (Deputy-Chairman and Managing Director), R. K. Morcom (Assistant Managing Director), and G. B. Parrott (Secretary). Offi,ce: Ledsam Street, Birmingham.—The company was registered May 3, 1899, to take over the business of engineers of G. E. Belliss and Co., Limited, registered August 11, 1893.
  • Bell's Asbestos Co, Limited.—Directors: H. Heywood (Chairman), H. A. Bell (Managing Director), A. J. Burnett, and H. J. Enthoven. Secretary: G. W, Giles. Registrar : T. Derry. Office: 59, Southwark Street, S.E. —The company was registered May 4, 1888, to take over the business of Messrs. John Bell and Son, manufacturers of asbestos in all the forms used in steam engines and electric machines, together with freehold deposits of asbestos in the province of Quebec, Canada; in 1906 the latter were sold.
  • Bell's Stores (1903), Limited.—Directors: J. Bradbury, H. Cross, W. H. Farley, and H. Mason. Secretary: A. Robinson. The company was registered January 14, 1904, to acquire the undertaking of a company of almost similar title, formed in 1902, and of Daniel Melia and Co., Limited, formed in 1896.
  • Belsize Motors, Limited.—Directors G. P. Dawson (Chairman), J. Barber, G. Higgin- bottom, C. Mather, J. H. Smith, and J. Whitehead. Secretary: J. Nuttall. Office: Belsize Works, Clayton, Manchester.—The company was registered April 20, 1906, to acquire the undertaking of the Belsize Motor Car and Engineering Co, Limited.
  • Ban Evans and Co., Limited.—Directors: J. Jackson, E. Meredith-Thomas (Managing Director), and J. Parker. Secretary: G. W. Mayhew. London Secretary: T. Nevell. Registered Office: Swansea. Transfer Office : 1, Leadenhall Buildings, E.C.—The company was registered February 7,1895, to acquire the business of the firm of the same name, general drapers and outfitters, of Swansea.
  • Bengal Mills Co, Limited.- Directors: J. Campbell, J. E. Radcliffe, and G. M. Weekley (Managing Director and Secretary). Office: Finsbury House, Bloomfield Street, E.C.—This cotton-spinning and weaving company was registered November 29, 1872.
  • Benger's Food, Limited.—Directors: A. H. Barlow, F. A. B. Benger, H. W. Kearns, S. Paine, and R. Whitehead. Secretary: A. B. Lowndes. Office: Otter Works, Mary Street, Strangeways, Manchester.—The company was registered May 2, 1903, to acquire the business of manufacturing and wholesale chemists of F. B. Benger and Co., Limited, registered March 10, 1891.
  • Benin River Produce Co, Limited.— Directors: G. A. Moore (Chairman), W. Bennet, D. P. Bleasby (Managing Director), W. H. Hoyland, and W. S. Porter. Secretary : E. W. Wright. Office : 41, Ormond Street, Liverpool.—The company was registered September 9, 1897, to acquire a property, about 40 square miles in extent, on the Benin River, West Africa, and to carry on the business of African produce merchants.
  • Bergvik Co, Limited.—Director's : G. C. Curtis (Chairman), F. P. Barlow, H. M. C. Curtis, H. Edlmann, and V. Thom, Jun. Secretary: H. Wain. Office: 9, Gracechurch Street, E.C.—The company was registered November 8, 1888, to take over the forests, cutting leases, and saw mills of a Swedish company, styled the Bergvik and Ala Company, and fresh properties have since been acquired.
  • Bernard Hughes, Limited.—Directors: S. Young, M.P. (Chairman), B. Devine {Managing Director), B. E. Hughes, F. D. Muir, and W. E. O’Rorke. Secretary: J. Dempsey. Office: Springfield Road, Belfast.—The company was registered December 7, 1893, to acquire a business of millers and bakers.
  • Bertrams, Limited.—Directors: F. W. Carter (Chairman), D. W. Ireland, S. Milne, J. B. Sutherland, and T. Young. Secretary: J. R. Henderson. Office : St. Katherine’s Works, Sciennes, Edinburgh.—The company was registered July 12, 1888, to take over the business of Messrs. George and William Bertram, engineers, Edinburgh. In 1898 it was decided to reconstruct the company with a view of consolidating the preference and ordinary shares into one class of capital, and the present company was registered June 30, 1898.
  • Bessler, Waechter and Co., Limited.—Governing Directors: Sir M. Waechter, Kt. (Chairman), and R. C. Forster. Managing Director: H. Waechter. Ordinary Directors : W. A. Balden, L. Charbonnel, J. G. Forster, T. R. Kean, R. M. Glover, and C. F. Kiley. Secretary: C. H. Clayson. Offiice: 18-19, Fenchurch Street, E. C. —The company was registered January 2, 1904, to acquire the business of produce dealers and general merchants of the firm of the same name.
  • Bevan and Co., Limited.—Directors: J. Bevan (Chairman), E. Alsop (Managing Director), and J. M. Jennings. Secretary: H. Gunn. Office: Westgate Chambers, Westgate Street, Cardiff .—The company was registered March 21,1890, to acquire the business of house furnisher, &c., carried on by Mr. John Bevan.
  • Beyer, Peacock and Co, Limited.—Directors: Sir V. Caillard (Chairman), T. Craven, S. W, Pilling, and Sir F. L. Robinson, K.C.B. General Manager: H. A. Hoy. Secretary: A. F. Halstead. London Secretary: A. S. King. Office: 34, Victoria Street, S. W.—The company was registered May 3, 1902, to take over the business of locomotive builders and general engineers of a company of almost similar title, registered April 26, 1883.
  • Bibi-Eyhat Petroleum Co, Limited.—Directors: J. A. Bryce, M.P. (Chairman), R. C. Antrobus, and W. Ritter Von Ofenheim. Secretary: R. M. Allan. Office: 28, Bishopsgate Street Within, E.C.—The company was registered October 25, 1900, for the purpose of acquiring all the shares of the BiW-Eybat Naphtha Company (incorporated in Russia),
  • Birmingham Aluminium Casting (1903) Co, Limited— Directors: Earl of Crawford, K.T. (Chairman), H. Chaplin, and W. H. Maudslay (Managing Director). Secretary: T. W. Mills. Office: Cambridge Street Works, Birmingham.—The company was registered May 5, 1903, in reconstruction of a company of almost similar title, registered October 16, 1896 (as the Hydraulic Joint Syndicate, Limited).
  • Birmingham Coffee House Co, Limited.—Directors; Sir W. Cook (Chairman), J. Cadbury, W. T. Harrison, H. J. Hart, and R. F. Martineau. Secretary: C. C. Smith. Office: Cobden Chambers, Corporation Street, Birmingham.—The company was registered in 1877.
  • Birmingham Gaiety Theatre of Varieties, Limited. —Directors: (Chairman), J. Young (Vice-Chairman), J. Bacon, and F. A. Badman. McIntosh, 6, Cherry Street, Birmingham. Registered Office: Coleshill ham. "" hall and hotel.
  • Birmingham Metal and Munitions Co, Limited.—Directors: E. M. Goodman (Chairman), T, Johnston, T. S. Walker, and W. Wotherspoon. Secretary: J. Fletcher. Office: Adderley Park Rolling Mills, Birmingham.—The company was registered August 26, 1897, to take over rolling mills and metal and ammunition works, formerly owned by the Birmingham Small Arms and Metal Co, Limited.
  • Birmingham Pneumatic Tyre Syndicate, Limited. — Directors: T. H. Charles (Chairman), H. Ledsam, and A. Murcott. Secretary: J. Caulfield. Office: 68, Broad Street, Birmingham.—The company was registered November 26, 1896.
  • Birmingham Racecourse Co, Limited.—Directors; Earl of Aylesford (Chairman), F. Goddard, G. E. Jarvis, and J. R. Walker. Secretary: J." Ford. Office: King’s Walk, Nottingham.—The company was registered March 19, 1894.
  • Birmingham Railway Carriage and Wagon Co, Limited. —Directors: G. Beech (Chairman), T. Pickard (Deputy-Chairman), J. Ash, W. Cooper, R. Gould, Hon. F. C. Stanley, A. R. Windle, N. Retallack, and H. T. Walters (the two last being Managing Directors). Secretat'y; W. Jefferies. Office: Smethwick, near Birmingham.—The company was established in 1854, registered September 13, 1856, and renamed as above in 1878.
  • Birmingham Small Arms Co, Limited.—Directors: Sir H. Rogers (Chairman), H. Wallis (Deputy-Chairman), G. H. Cartland, F. D. Docker, A. Eadie (Joint Managing Director), E. M. Goodman, W. E. Hipkins, W. L. Powell, R. W. Smith (Joint Managing Director), and T. F. Walker. General Manager: C. A. Kirkby. Secretary: K. R. Davis. Offices: Armoury Road, Small Heath, Birmingham.—The present company was registered September 23, 1896, as the Birmingham Small Arms and Metal Co, Limited, and late in 1897 the name was changed as above. In 1907 the Eadie Manufacturing Co, Limited, was absorbed, and the company is engaged in the manufacture of military and sporting rifles and cycle components.
  • Birt, Potter and Hughes, Limited.—Directors: W. J. Gwyn, A. Hughes, and J. W. Potter. Secretary: G. Low. Office: 2, Fenchurch Avenue, E.C.—The company was registered February 25, 1898, to take over the business of shipbrokers, freight contractors, and merchants of the firm of the same name.
  • Black and White Publishing Co, Limited.— Directors: E. E. Wild (Chairman), J. I. Cooke, S. Mackew (Managing Director), and W. D. Ross. Acting Secretary: J. B. Belbin. Office: 34, Bouverie Street, E.C.—The company was registered March 31,1890, and publishes the journal named in the title, and other papers.
  • Blackett and Son, Limited.—Directors: W. Sutton (Chairman) and C. H. Blackett. Manager: E. T. Measor. Secretary: R. W. Scriven. Office: 241, High Street West, Sunderland.—The company was registered July 21, 1897, to take over the business of drapers, &c., of the firm of the same name.
  • Blackfriars Type Foundry, Limited.—Directors: C. O. E. Nicholson (Managing Director), R. F. Nicholson, and G. Walter. Secretary: H. Wright. Office: 154, Blackfriars Road, S.E.—The company was registered July 17, 1906, to acquire the undertaking of the Wicks Rotary Type-Casting Co, Limited, registered January 30, 1897, to acquire certain patent rights for the United Kingdom, together with an interest in all foreign patents.
  • Blackpool Gigantic Wheel Co, Limited.—Directors: T. Lockwood (Chairman), F. A. Badmaii, J. Barningham, J. Pearson, and J. Whittington. Secretary: W. B. Farnell. Manager: Capt. F. W. Walkington. Office: Coronation Street, Blackpool. — The company was registered April 28, 1896.
  • Blackpool Pier Co —Directors : W. A. Bamber (Chairman), J. Hodgson (Vice-Chairman), T. Gordon, H. P. May, and J. L. Smith. Secretary: J. Walker. Offices: Talbot Square, Blackpool.—The company was established in 1861 as a limited company, and in 1878 was incorporated by special act of parliament.
  • Blackpool South Shore Pier and Pavilion Co, Limited.—Directors: H. Whitehead (Chairman), A. H. Doleman, W. D. Henderson, N. Morris, and S. Slater. Secretary: G. Roberts. Office: Victoria Pier, Blackpool.—The company was registered November 18, 1890.
  • Blackpool Tower Co, Limited.—Directors: J. Bickerstaffe (Chairman), A, L. Dickins (Vice-Chairman), A. Ascroft, W. Bratby, and A. Lowcock. Secretary: R. Parker. Office.: Tower Buildings, Blackpool.—The company was registered February 19, 1891, to erect a tower, buildings, and places of entertainment at Blackpool. In 1903 the property of the Alhambra (Blackpool), Limited, was acquired.
  • Blackpool Winter Gardens and Pavilion Co, Limited.—Directors: J. Pearson (Chairman), F. A. Badman (Vice-Chairman), J. W. Close, and O. K. Hardman. Secretary: A. E. Peace. Office: Blackpool.—The company was registered August 7, 1875.
  • Blair and Co., Limited.—Office: Stockton-on-Tees.—The company was registered June 28,1900, in reconstruction of a company of the same title registered in 1865 to take over a business of marine engineers.
  • Bleachers Association, Limited.—Directors: H. S. Cross (Chairman), J. Eckersley (Vice-Chairman), N. M. Barnes, H. Bridson, A. P. Brydson, T. A. Crook, J. L. Cross, T. S. Forrest, G. Hamilton, H. M. Hardcastle, K. Hough, Jun., J. Howarth, C. Hunter, J. D. Kay, T. Kenyon, A. J. King, M.P., J. J. Kirkpatrick, W. C. Lees, J. A. McHaffie, A. McNab, R. H. Marsden, W. Mosley, John R. Ragdale, Joseph R. Ragdale, J. Rostron, S. H. Rothwell, J. W. Simpson, J. W. Slater, S. Slater, J. Stanning, A. J. Sykes, F. Sykes, E. Thwaites, T. H. Thwaites, H. Whitehead, P. K. Whitehead, J. J. Wooler, H. Allen, A. K. Davies, T. Warburton, and F. Whowell (the four last-named being managing directors). Secretary: R. H. Eccles. Office: 4, Norfolk Street, Manchester.—The company was registered June 7, 1900, to acquire and amalgamate numerous firms and companies engaged in the bleaching trade.
  • Blenkhorn, Richardson and Co., Limited.—Directors: J. F. Blenkhorn (Governing Director and Chairman), D. T. Hardie (Secretary); W. Y. Melvin, and T. Middlemas. Office: Eastfield Mills, Hawick, N.B.—The company was registered September 28, 1898, to take over the businesses of a private company of the same name, and of Messrs. William Kedie and Co., woollen and worsted cloth manufacturers.
  • Bloch and Behr, Limited.—Directors: D. Dalziel (Chairman), E. Kastor, and E. Weinbach (Paris). Secretary: R. Gordon. Office: 32, Old Jewry, E.C.—The company was registered July 12, 1901, to acquire the wholesale clothing business of a firm of the same name of Paris.
  • Block Light, Limited.—Directors: J. W. Matthews (Chairman), G. D. G. Browne, W. T. J. Gun, R. II. Hoare, M. W. Keith, J. T. Robin, and R. G. Wrightson. Secretary: H. Bathurst. Office: Clifton Buildings, Worship Street, E.C.—The company was registered March 29, 1906.
  • Blundell, Spence and Co., Limited. Managing Directors: E. Dixon (Chairman), S. Hill, R. Meggitt, and A. W. Willis. Director's: C. C. Graham (Vice-Chairman), C. L. Longstaff, Dr. G. B. Longstaff, H. W. Longstaff, and A. H. Renshaw. Secretary: G. F. Wright. Office: Beverley Road, Hull.—The company was registered October 16, 1874, to take over the paint, colour, and varnish manufacturing business of the firm of this name, and was re-registered on March 19, 1889, on an enlarged basis.
  • Blyth, Greene, Jourdain and Co., Limited.—Directors: H, D. Blyth (Chairman), J. B. Currie, A. E. Gibbs, J. W. Hollway, and J. Macandrew. Secretary: S. E. Boonie. Office: 41, Eastcheap, E.C.—The company was registered December 6, 1894, to take over the business of merchants of the firm of the same name.
  • Bohnsdalen Mills, Limited.—Directors: F. Praed (Chairman), Col. R. Baring, J. O. Brougham, and C. M. Rose. Secretary: A. C. Whitmee. Office: 15, Copthall Avenue, E.C. — The company was registered June 1, 1900.
  • Bolands, Limited.—Directors: T. Sexton (Chairman), O. Fry, J. Harrington,M. O’Neill, and M. E. Solomons. Secretary: W. A. Ritchie. Office: Capel Street, Dublin.—The company was registered in 1888 to take over the baking and milling business of the late Mr. Patrick Boland.
  • Bolt Brothers, Limited.—Managing Directors: W. H. T. Bolt (Chairman), J. F. Bolt, and F. S. Bolt. Directors: J. H. Wilkinson, J. Wilson, and J. Riddell. Secretary: W. A. Nott. Office: 39-45, Victoria Street, Bristol.—The company was registered November 3, 1897, to take over the wholesale drapery business of the firm of the same name.
  • Bolton Theatre and Entertainments Co, Limited. — Directors : J- Miles (Chairman), J, F. Elliston (Managing Director), and T. B. Tong. Secretary: J. Carter. Office: Theatre Royal, Bolton.—The company was registered April 25,1889, to acquire the Theatre Royal at Bolton, held on lease for a term of 999 years, together with the Grand Music Hall, the freehold of which has since been acquired. The authorised capital is £28,000 in shares of £5, of which £26,380 has been allotted and called up. There are also loans on mortgage, &c., for £19,900. The accounts are made up annually to early in March, and submitted in April.
  • Bombay Electric Supply and Tramways Co, Limited.—Directors: Sir E. Sassoon, Bart., M.P. (Chairman), F. W. Chanter, E. Garcke, C. S. Hilton, Sir E. C. K. Ollivant, K.C.I.E., and F. C. Rimington (Managing Director). Secretary : E. Hopwood. Office: Donington House, Norfolk Street, W.C.—The company was registered June 27,1905. The company has acquired from the British Electric Traction Co, Limited, the existing horse tramways in Bombay, together with a power house for the supply of electricity, and the company has also obtained a concession from the municipality of Bombay to convert the tramways to electric traction, to construct new lines, and to lay electric cables for the supply of electricity for lighting, power and other purposes. The electrification of the system is being proceeded with, and about 12 1/2 miles, out of a total of 21, have been converted to electric traction. The concession is in perpetuity, but the municipality has the right to purchase the undertaking at the end of 42, 56, or 63 years, or at the end of any subsequent period of 7 years at the then bone fide value (exclusive of any compensation for goodwill, premium, or compulsory sale) of the property, such value, in case of difference, to be decided by arbitration,
  • Bon Marche, Limited.— Directors: E. Jones (Chairman), G. R. Higgins, H. T. Holdron, and F. W. Lack. Secretary: E. M. Sewell. Office: 442-4, Brixton Road, S. W.—The company was registered May 27, 1892, to acquire a property at Brixton, S.W., and carry on the business of general drapers, outfitters, &c.
  • Bookless Brothers Steam Trawling and Fishing Co, Limited.—Directors: D. H. Bookless, J. H. Bookless, T. Bookless, J. F. Johnston, and M. J. Melvin. Secretary: W. Sissons. OffifCe: 74, High Street, Sheffield.—The company was registered May 2, 1906.
  • Booth and Fox, Limited.—Directors: A. Fox, H. C. Fox (Managing Director), and J, B. Fox. Secretary: J. N. Haines. Office: 86, Hatton Garden, E.C.—The company was registered July 1, 1897, to acquire the business of feather merchants of the firm of the same name.
  • Booth and Others, Limited.—Directors: H. S. Booth (Chairman), W. Mair, H. Scares, and R. W. Southern. Secretary : G. S. Thomas. Office: Prince’s Buildings, Oxford Street, Manchester.—The company was registered December 16, 1899, to acquire the packing businesses of Messrs. H. S. Booth and Co., Messrs. Greatorex and Co., and Messrs. Sillitoe and Scares, of Manchester.
  • Boots, Cash Chemists (Eastern), Limited.—Directors: Jesse Boot (Chairman and Managing Director), J. Duckworth, M.P., J. Gibbs, and E. S. Waring. Secretary: A. L. Milne. Office: Station Street, Nottingham. — The company was registered April 25, 1892, as Boots, Limited, to carry on the business of chemists and druggists, and early in 1900 the name was changed as above.
  • Boots, Cash Chemists (Lancashire), Limited. — Directors: Jesse Boot (Managing Director), T. H. Coates, and J. Duckworth, M.P. Secretary: A. L. Milne. Office: Station Street, Nottingham.—The company was-registered June 26, 1899, to take over certain businesses from Boots, Cash Chemists (Western), Limited, and Boots Pure Drug Company. Limited.
  • Boots, Cash Chemists (Western), Limited.—Directors: Jesse Boot (Chairman and Managing Director), J. Duckworth, M.P., and Dr. B. T. Pritchard. Secretary: A. L. Milne. Office: Station Street, Nottingham.—The company was registered March 27, 1897, to take over certain retail businesses from Boots Pure Drug Co, Limited.
  • Boots Pure Drug Co. Limited.—Directors: Jesse Boot (Chairman and Managing Director), J. Gibbs, and A. Thompson. Office: Station Street, Nottingham.—The company was registered November 7, 1888.
  • Borax Consolidated, Limited.—Directors: R., C. Baker (Joint Managing Director), L. H. De Friese, J. Gerotley, Capt. J. W. Reid, and F. M. Smith (Joint Managing Director). Secretary: H. T. Daniell. Offi^ce: 16, Eastcheap, E.C.—The company was registered January 11, 1899, to acquire the borate and colemanite deposits, boracite mines, railways, factories, &c., in the United States of America, England, France, Austria, Turkey, and South America, of various companies, including the Borax Co]], Limited, the Pacific Borax and Redwood's Chemical Works, Limited, and the Societe Lyonnaise.
  • Borneo Co, Limited.—Directors; G. W. Henderson (Chairman), A. Harvey, J. Henderson, and P. D. Thomson (Managing Director). Manager and Secretary: A. Currie. Office: 28, Fenchurch Street, E.C.—The company was registered in 1856. The authorised capital is £300,000 in shares of £10, all of which has been subscribed and called up. No further information is obtainable, but this notice has been officially revised. Telegraphic address, Borneo, London. Telephone number, 347 Avenue.
  • Boston Deep Sea Fishing and Ice Co, Limited.—Directors : T. C. Garfit (Chairman), W. L. Claypon, G. S. W. Jebb, T. Kitwood, R. W. Millington, J. M. Simpson, T. Slator, and W. T. Small. Secretary: H. S. Budge. Manager: F. Donnison. Office: The Dock, Boston.—The company was registered August 18, 1885.
  • Boulton and Paul, Limited,— Directors: J. J. D. Paul (Chairman and Permanent Director), G, M. Chamberlin, H. Ffiske (Managing Director), and W. H. Ffiske (Assistant Managing Director). Secretary: W. H. A. Allen. Office: Rose Lane Works, Norwich.—The company was registered December 13, 1897, to acquire the business of constructional engineers, horticultural builders, &c., of the firm of the same name.
  • Bovril, Limited.—Directors: Earl of Bessborough (Chairman). G. L. Johnston (Vice- Chairman), Rt. Hon. R. Farquharson, M.D., W. E. L. Johnston, A. Walker, and D. Walker, the last two being joint managing directors. Secretary : W. A. Harris. Registered Office 152-166, Old Street, E.C.—The company was registered November 19, 1896, as Bovril (British, Foreign, and Colonial), Limited, to acquire the undertaking of Bovril, Limited, and the old name was assumed in 1897.
  • Bow, M'Lachlan and Co., Limited.—Directors: W. Bow (Chairman and Joint Managing Director), J. M‘Lachlan (Joint Managing Director), R. D. Munro, H. C. Waters and R. Watson. Secretary: W. Jolly. Office: Thistle Works, Paisley.—The company was registered November 1, 1900, to acquire the businesses of engineers, boiler-makers, &c., of the firm of the same name and two other firms.
  • Bowden Brake Co, Limited.—Directors: J. R. Nisbet (Chairman), J. Bring (Managing Director), H. A. Lamplugh, and J. E. Young. Secretary: J. A. Lavel. Office: 151, Farringdon Road, E.C. — The company was registered April 11, 1901, to acquire a business protected by letters patent for the manufacture and sale in the United Kingdom of a brake for cycles.
  • Bradbury, Agnew and Co., Limited.—Directors: Sir William Agnew, Bart., E. Agnew, Walter Agnew, P. L. Agnew, and W. L. Bradbury. Secretary: H. Heather. Office: 10, Bouverie Street, Fleet Street, E.C.—The company, which is the proprietor of Punch, was originally registered April 14, 1890, to take over the publishing and printing business of the firm of the same name. Early in 1899 reconstruction took place, and the present company was registered February 15, 1899.
  • Bradbury and Co., Limited.—Directors: W. C. Drybrough (Chairman), G. Buckley, T. W. Chadwick, G. Wareing, and T. Whitworth. Secretary: J, Howarth. Office: Wellington Works, Oldham.—The company was established May 5, 1874, to acquire the business of sewing-machine makers of the firm of the same name, and the business has since been extended to cycle and tool manufacturing, &c.
  • Bradbury, Greatorex and Co., Limited. — Directors: H. J. Gardiner (Chairman), J. P. Hitchings, W. H. Rowe, and S. Tilley. Secretary: G. Clarke. Office : 6, Aiderman-. bmy, E.C.—The company was formed in 1868 to take over a private concern of the same name established in 1814, and carries on the business of warehousemen; on February 16, 1894, it was re-registered with an enlarged capital.
  • Bradford Coal Merchants and Consumers' Association, Parkinson (Chairman), J. Smith (Vice-Chairman), A. R. x./a-ixiv*xcj, u. vuw, uun., J. T. Cole, E. Parkinson, W. Parkinson (two gentlemen of this name on the board), E. Smith, D. H. Thornton, J. Triffitt, and F. W. Whittaker. S...J. Pl Office: Imperial Chambers, Bridge Street, Bradford. — The company was registered May 31, 1899, to take over certain businesses.
  • Bradford Dyers' Association, Limited.—Directors: H. Sutcliffe (Chairman), A. Grandage (Vice-Chairman), H. R. Armitage, H. E. Aykroyd, W. E. Aykroyd, W. H. Aykroyd (a Managing Director), J. Briggs, Sir F. Cawley, Bart., M.P., G. Douglas (a Managing Director), G. H. France, H. Grandage, W. Grandage, W. Helsby, E. F. Holdsworth, W. H. Ingham, J. J. Kershaw, W. S. Kinch, J. Kirk, R. S. Kirk, J. Marshall, J. W. Reffitt, Henry Ripley, Hugh Ripley, B. Robinson, T. Robinson, J. Sharp, Jun., M. S. Sharp (a Managing Director), C. B. Shaw, F. Shaw, J. Shaw, H. S. Smith, J. H. Stott, H. Sumner, D. H. Thornton, R. C. Thyne, A. Ward, I. D. Ward, W. L. Whewell, A. Whitaker, J. Whitaker, T. Whitaker, J. W. White, and S. Woodhead. Secretary: J. Herschel. Office: 39, Well Street, Bradford. — The company was registered December 3, 1898, to take over the businesses of various companies and firms engaged in what is known as the “Bradford piece-dyeing trade.”
  • Bradford Manufacturing Co, Limited.—Directors: J. Maddocks (Chairman), W. M. Gray, and L. M. Griffiths (Managing Director). Secretary: G. W. Doey. Office: 29, Canal Road, Bradford.—The company was registered February 10, 1890, to acquire the business of manufacturers and general warehousemen, carried on by Mr. J. Maddocks under the title of the Bradford Manufacturing Company. In May, 1907, a bonus of £2 10s, per share was declared, and on 1,500 ordinary shares with £7 10s. called it was capitalised, and both preference and ordinary shares of £10 each were then subdivided into denominations of £1.
  • Brampton Brothers, Limited.—Directors: C. H. Brampton (Chairman and Joint Managing Director), A. Brampton (Joint Managing Director), F. W. Brampton, W. J. Fieldhouse, and H. S. Yoxall. Secretary: E. H. Kendrick. Office: Oliver Street Works, Birmingham.—The company was registered May 11, 1897, to take over the business of cycle chain manufacturers of the firm of the same name.
  • Brandram Brothers and Co., Limited.—Directors: H. W. Foskett (Chairman), A. Brandram (Managing Director), H. R. Savory, and F. J. Walker. Secretary: A. W. Akehurst. Office: 16, Philpot Lane, E.C.—The company was registered January 27, 1898, to take over the business of the firm of the same name, saltpetre and brimstone refiners, white lead manufacturers, &c.
  • Bransom, Kent and Co., Limited.—Directors: W. B. Griffiths (Chairman), G. E. Grant, S. J. Kent, andC. N. White. Secretary: C. E. Hoefling. Office: 40, Great Eastern Street, E.C.—The company was registered October 16, 1896, to take over the businesses of cycle fittings manufacturers of William Bransom and Co. and the St. George’s Cycle Company. In 19^ the capital, previously all ordinary, was subdivided into three classes, 30,000 of the shares held by the managing directors being converted into deferred shares, and the remainder of the capital into equal proportions of preference and ordinary.
  • Brazilian Extract of Meat and Hide Factory, Limited.—Directors: J. Beckwith, T. F. Knowles, and F. Pryce. Secretary : S. L. Clarke. Office: 3, Great Winchester Street, E.C.—The company was registered September 2, 1887, to take over the Paredio factory, situated near Porto Alegre, Brazil, and also certain exclusive concessions from the Brazilian government. Late in 1902 the capital was written down by £4 per share, and it now consists of £21,109 in fully-paid shares of £1 each. There are also debentures for £3,900, besides £10,000 issued as security for a floating loan, the total authorised of the debenture issue being £50,000. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in April or May. For 1902 5 per cent, was paid on the reduced capital; for 1903, 7^ ; and for 1904, 1905 and 3906, 10 each year, with, in addition, a bonus of 10 per cent, for 1906. Reserve fund, £5,000; credit to exchange account, £7,381; carried forward, £3,868. Voting power, one vote for each share. Director’s qualification, £500 of shares. Transfer form, common ; fee, 28. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address, Interdome, London. Telephone number, 2620 Central.
  • Brett’s Patent Lifter Co, Limited.—Directors: W. Hewitt (Chairman), B. Brett (General Manager), W. Radford, and W. H. Spencer. Secretary: J. J. B. Ogle. Office: Harnall Lane, Coventry.—The company was registered November 16, 1898, to take over a portion of the business of Brett’s, Limited, which was registered March 15, 1897. In 1905 two-thirds of the capital were -written off, and the authorised capital is now £6,656 13s. 4d. in shares of 6s. 8d., of which £6,492 6s. 5d. has been subscribed and paid up. There are also debentures for about £3,900. The accounts are made up annually to the end of October, and submitted in December. For the period to October 31, 1899, 3^ per cent, per annum was paid; for 1899-1900 and 1900-1, 2^ ; for 1901-2, 1902-3, and 1903-4, 5 (on the capital before reduction); for 1904-5, 7^; and for 1905-6, 15. Reserve fund, £1,800; carried forward, £254. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, 250 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Lifter, Coventry. Telephone number, 384, Coventry.
  • Brett's Stamping Co, Limited.— Directors: J. Griffiths (Chairman), H. J. Baker, and C. J. Hill. Secretary: J. J. B. Ogle. Office: Harnall Lane, Coventry.—The company was registered November 16, 1898, to take over a portion of the business of Brett’s, Limited, which was registered March 15, 1897. The authorised capital is £40,000 in shares of £1, half being ordinary, and half 6 per cent, non-cumulative preference, and £19,477 of ordinary and £19,470 of preference have been subscribed and called up. There are also debentures for £8,800. The accounts are made up annually to July 31, and submitted in October. The first dividend was 6 per cent, on the preference shares, paid for 1900-1; for 1901-2 a similar payment was made; for 1902-3 the preference shares received 4 per cent., but there has been no ordinary dividend ; for 1903-4 there was no dividend on either class of shares ; for 1904-5 the preference shares received 4 per cent.; and for 1905-6 the ordinary received 3 percent. ; and for 1906-7, 7|. Reserve fund, £2,500; carried forward, £1,152. Voting power, one vote for every share of either class. Director’s qualification, 250 ordinary shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 28. 6d. Telegraphic address, Brett’s, Coventry. Telephone number, 168, Coventry. Latest prices—ordinary, 16s. ; preference, 14s.
  • Brewers’ Sugar Company, Limited.—Directors: R. Kerr (Chairman), J. W. Bailey (Managing Director), W. H. Curtis, D. E. Johnstone, and W. M. Mackean. Secretary: J. S. Wingate. Office: Westburn Square, Greenock. The company was registered March 26, 1896, to acquire the business of a company of the same name, and 1,290 (part of 1,300) shares of £10 each (£7 paid) of the Cereals Co, Limited. The authorised capital is £230,000 in shares of £10, half being ordinary and half 5 per cent, cumulative preference, the latter having also a priority as to capital, and the whole amount has been subscribed and called up. The accounts are now made up annually to September 30, and submitted in December. For each of the nine years to 1904, the nine months to September 30, 1905, and the year 1905-6, 7 per cent, per annum was paid on the ordinary shares, and for 1901 and 1902 there was in addition a bonus of 3 per cent, each year, for 1903 of 5 per cent. ; for 1904 and the nine months to September 30, 1905, 7 per cent, per annum, and for the year 1905-6, 5 per cent. Reserve fund, £87,500; carried forward, £8,187. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for each ordinary share; preference shareholders have no vote unless upon contingencies stated fully in the articles. Director’s qualification, 400 ordinary shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address, Westburn, Greenock. Telephone numbers, 93 and 97, Greenock. Latest price of preference, 9J.
  • Brierfield Mills, Limited.—Directors: H. Tunstill (Chairman), J. W. Dyson (Managing Director), and W. H. Hartley. Secretary: B. Waddington. Office: Brierfield Mills, near Burnley.—The company was registered November 4, 1904, to acquire the business of cotton spinners of Messrs. Tunstill Brothers. The authorised capital is £100,000 in shares of £1,. half being 5^ per cent, cumulative preference, with a priority as to capital, and half ordinary, and the whole amount has been subscribed and called up. There is also 4^ per. cent, first mortgage debenture stock for £45,640, with interest payable June 30 and December 31, and the principal repayable on six months’ notice, on or after December 31, 1914, at 102 per cent., the stock being secured on the freehold, copy hold, and leasehold properties. The accounts are made up to March 31 and September 30, and submitted in April and October. For the period to March, 1905, a dividend of 71 per cent, per annum was paid ; for the half year to September, 1905, the dividend was 25 per cent, per annum ; to March, 1906, 20 ; to September, 1906, 12|; to March, 1907, 27^; and to September, 1907, 22J. Reserve fund, £21,000; capital reserve fund, £10,000; carried forward, £4,185. Voting power, one vote for every share of either class, but preference shares only vote under special circumstances. Director’s qualification, £250 in shares or stock, to be acquired within two months of the date of election. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. ; debenture stock is transferable in sums of £5 and multiples, the minimum holding allowed being £10. Telegraphic address, Triumvir, Brierfield. Telephone number, 15, Nelson.
  • Brighton and Hove Supply Association, Limited.—Directors: A. Parks-Smith (Chairman), E. Eager, W. Keen, J. F. Plaister, and W. W. Sandeman. Secretary: J. W. Gaunter. Office: Palmeira House, Hove.—The company was registered November 26, 1902, to take over the business of a company of almost similar title, registered May 13, 1873. The authorised capital is £100,000 in shares, of 10s., £25,000 being 6 per cent, cumulative preference shares, having also a priority as to capital, and £75^,000 ordinary; of the preference capital £10,225 has been subscribed, and £5,112 10s., or 5s. per share, called up, and of the ordinary capital £30,000 has been allotted as fully paid. There are also—5 per cent. A debentures for £7,000, with interest payable January 1 and July 1, and the principal repayable January 1,1908 ; 4^ per cent. B debentures for £19,200, with interest payable May 1 and November 1, and the principal repayable November 1, 1923—the company, however, has reserved the right, at any time, to give notice to pay off the debentures at 5 per cent, premium at the expiration of six months; mortgages for £1,000; and deposits for £6,858. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in March. For the thirteen months to December 31, 1903, 7d. per share was paid on the ordinary capital; and for the years 1904, 1905 and 1906, 5 per cent. Carried forward, £676. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for every share, ordinary or preference. Director’s qualification, 500 shares of either class. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address: Stores, Brighton. Telephone numbers, 2505 and 2506 (National), and 1161 (Corporation), Hove.
  • Brighton and South Coast Aerated Bread Co, Limited —Directors: E. J. Butt-Thompson, J. S. Horsley, and W. WL Savage. Secretary: A. E. Smith. Office: 22, St. James’s Street, Brighton.—The company was registered January 26, 1889, and in 1895 the capital was reconstructed, mainly by writing off 15s. per £1 share as lost. The authorised capital is now £10,000 in shares of 5s., of which £7,714 10s. has been issued and paid up. There are also debentures and a mortgage for together £2,350. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and usually submitted in March or April. For 1895 the dividend was 4 per cent. ; and for 1896, 2i. There has since been no dividend. Debit balance at December 31, 1906, £284, as against £327 brought down. Voting power, one vote for each share. Director’s qualification, 100 shares, held for one month. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Aerated, Brighton.
  • Brighton Marine Palace and Pier Company.—: Marine Palace Pier, Brighton. —The company was formed by act of parliament in 1888. The authorised capital is £150,000, of which £25,000 has been issued in 5 per cent, preference shares of £10, and £85,000 in ordinary shares of £10, but of the latter £14,000 has been divided into equal amounts of preferred and deferred shares, the former ranking for 6 per cent, dividends on the portion of any dividend declared accruing to the £14,000. There is also 4J per cent, debenture stock for £25,000. The accounts are made up to June 30 and December 31, and submitted in August and February. For the first half of 1903 7 per cent, was paid on the undivided ordinary, giving the preferred the full rate of 6 per cent, per annum, and the deferred 8. Carried forward, £731. No later report has been received. Voting power, one vote for every ordinary share up to 10, then one for every 5 shares up to 100, and one for every 10 shares beyond. Director’s qualification, 25 shares. Transfer form, common : fee, 2s. 6d.
  • Brighton West Pier Company.—Directors: W. H. Gibson (Chairman), J. J. Clark (Vice-Chairman), S. S. Ashmore-Noakes, M.D., H. J. Infield, and E. G. Whittle, M.D. Secretary: A. D. Norman. Office: West Pier, Brighton.—The company was incorporated in 1890 to acquire, enlarge, and improve the West Pier at Brighton. The authorised capital is £100,000 in shares of £10, of which £80,000 has been issued and paid up, and there is 4 per cent, debenture stock for £16,650. The accounts are made up to the end of February and August, and submitted in April and October. For the half-year to August, 1897, 11 per cent, per annum was paid; to February, 1898, 5; to August, 1898, 13; to February, 1899, 5; to August, 1899, 13; to February, 1900, 5; to August, l900, 13; to February, 1901, 5; to August, 1901, 11; to February, 1902, 5; to August, 1902, 11; to February, 1903, 5; to August, 1903, 11; to February, 1904, 5; to August, 1904, 11; to February, 1905, 5; to August, 1905, 10; to February, 1906, 5; to August, 1906, 9; and to February, 1907, 5. Reserve fund, £3,529. Voting power, one vote for every share up to 10, one for every 5 beyond up to 100, and one for every additional 10. Director’s qualification, 20 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d.; debenture stock is transferable in amounts and multiples of £50.
  • Bright’s Stores, Limited.—Directors: P. M. Bright (Joint Managing Director), J. I. May, A. Peach (Joint Managing Director), W. F. Thick, and T. A. Twitchett. Secretary: H. N. Penn. Office: 24, Old Christchurch Road, Bournemouth.—The company was registered May 12, 1898. The authorised capital is £70,000, £40,000 being in 6 per cent, cumulative preference shares of £5, having a priority also as to capital, and £30,000 in ordinary shares of £1, all of which has been subscribed and paid up. There are also 5 per cent, first mortgage debentures of £100 each for £35,000, with interest payable January 1 and July 1, and the principal repayable in 1937. The accounts are made up annually to February 14, and submitted in March. For the year 1898-9 the dividend was 6 per cent.; for each of the three years to 1901-2, 5 ; for 1902-3, 6 ; for the three years to 1905-6, 5; and for 1906-7, 6. Carried forward, £525. On account of 1907-8 2| per cent, was paid on the ordinary shares in September. Voting power, one vote for every share of either class. Director’s qualification, £1,000 ’ ’ 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Bournemouth.
  • Brightside Foundry and Engineering Co Limited. Directors: A. Firth (Chairman and Joint Managing Director), F. W. Firth, T. H. Firth (Joint Managing Director), B. Freeborough, and T. Wilkinson. Secretary : T. Milner. Office: The Wicker, Sheffield. —The company was registered September 18, 1899. The authorised capital is £90,000 in shares of £1, £50,000 being 5 per cent, cumulative preference, ranking also for priority as to capital, and £40,000 ordinary, and £45,000 preference and all the ordinary have been subscribed and paid up. The accounts are made up annually to June 30, and submitted in August. For the period to June 30, 1900, the ordinary shares got 7^ per cent, per annum and a bonus of 2^ per cent.; for 1900-1 the distribution was 7i per cent. ; and for 1901-2, 5. For 1902-3 only the preference dividend was paid; for 1903-4 the ordinary got 4 per cent. ; for 1904-5, 5; for 1905-6, 6; and for 1906-7, 7|. Reserve fund, £7,000; carried forward, £1,168. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for every ordinary share; preference shares only vote on matters affecting their rights. Director’s qualification, 1,000 shares of either class. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address, Castings, Sheffield. Telephone number, 373, Sheffield. Latest prices—ordinary, J; preference,
  • Brill’s Brighton Baths Co, Limited. — Directors: W. W. Savage (Chairman), J. H. Grant (Deputy-Chairman), J. Chalmers-Hunt, J. S. Horsley, and A. E. Mellor. Secretary: J. Widdop. Office: 76, East Street, Brighton.—The company was registered January 25, 1865. The authorised capital is £120,000 in shares of £20, of which £88,340 has been subscribed and paid up. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in February. For each of the four years to 1898 the dividend was 1 per cent. ; for 1899, nil; for 1900, | per cent. ; for 1901, nil; for 1902, 1903, and 1904, per cent and for 1905 and 1906, 1s. 4d. per share each year. Carried forward, £90. Voting power, one vote for each share. Director’s qualification, 25 shares, held at time of election; Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. fid. Telephone number, 05825 (National), Brighton.
  • Brimsdown Lead Co, Limited.—Directors: S. Miall (Chairman), G. Allman, H. A. Humphrey, R. Mathias, and B. Mohr. Secretary: H. W. Janes. Office : 37-38, Mark Lane, E.C.—The company was registered December 12, 1900, as the Bischof White Lead Corporation (1900), Limited, to acquire certain patents and other assets, the property of Bischof's White Lead Syndicate, Limited, registered January 28, 1893, including a manufactory and established business ; in 1903 the name was changed as above. In connection with a reconstruction of the capital, in order to provide for a debit to profit and loss, &c., the company was placed in liquidation in 1905, but the liquidation proceedings were subsequently stayed. The scheme of capital reduction, effected in 1905-6, comprised the writing of 5s. per share off the preference shares, and 15s. per share off the ordinary shares ; at the same time the preference shareholders agreed to waive all claim to any arrears of dividend prior to December 31, 1905, while the 7 per cent, dividend in respect of the three years ending December 31, 1906, 1907 and 1908, is to be non-cumulative. After December 31, 1908, the profits available for dividend are to be applied first in paying the preference shareholders 7 per cent., the ordinary shareholders 5 per cent., and then the preference shareholders a further 2 per cent. The authorised capital is now £187,500, £150,000 in preference shares of 15s., and £37,500 in ordinary shares of 5s., and £94,249 10s. of preference and £36,676 of ordinary have been subscribed and paid up. There are also—5 per cent, debentures of £100 each for £40,000, redeemable at par on December 31, 1909; and a loan of £8,000. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in April; No dividend has yet been paid on either class of shares. At December 31, 1905, there was a debit to profit and loss of £44,981, which was written off in the reduction of capital as above ; and for 1906 there was a loss, after providing for debenture interest, of £4,503. Voting power, one vote for each share of either class. Director's qualification, shares to the nominal value of £250. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address. Hydration, London. Telephone number, 1124 Avenue.
  • Bristol and South Wales Railway Waggon Co, Limited.—Directors: Col. H. G. Batten (Chairman), C. H. Cave, C. C. Savile, Col. H. B. O. Savile, C.B., and R. H. Warren. Secretary: J. Bicknell. Office: Ghyston Buildings, Marsh Street, Bristol —The company was registered in 1860.
  • Bristol Wagon and Carriage Works Co, Limited.—Directors: S. Fripp (Chairman), F. J. Fry, G. F. Fry (Joint Managing Director), J. Mills (Joint Managing Director), J. W. Stevens, and J. H. Woodward. Secretary: S. Chappell. Office: Lawrence Hill, Bristol.—The company was registered November 23, 1866, and in 1889 the name was changed from the Bristol Wagon Works Co, Limited, as above.
  • Britannia Nitrate Co, Limited.—Directors: H. W. Sillem (Chairman), J. D. Campbell, F. W. Hayne, K, Mathieson, and J. Purves. Secretary: F. W. Bishop. Office: 145, Dashwood House, E.C.—The company was registered June 11, 1906, to acquire eight Chilian Estacas (each of 1,000,000 square metres) of nitrate grounds, situated in the Kefresco district of Taltal, Chili
  • British Alizarine Co, Limited.—Directors J. Christie (Chairman), E. W. H. Beaton, L. B. Lee, Sir A. E. Orr Ewing, Bart., Marquis de Jaucourt, and A. Wylie. Secretary: E. T. James. Office: Silvertown, E.—The company was registered December 14, 1882, to manufacture from coal-tar products a colouring matter known as alizarine.
  • British Aluminium Co, Limited.—Directors : J. D. Bonner (Chairman), E. E. Sawyer (Vice-Chairman), R. Heath, Lord Kelvin, F. Robinow, R. W. Wallace, K.C., and H. Wolfenden. Secretary: W. Farrell. Office: 109, Queen Victoria Street, E.C.—The company was registered May 7, 1894, to acquire mines in the north of Ireland, and certain patent rights connected with the manufacture of aluminium, with a freehold factory at Foyers, near Inverness.
  • British-American Tobacco Co, Limited.— Directors: W. K. Harris (Chairman) , H. Cunliffe-Owen (Vice-Chairman), Lord Winterstoke, J. B. Duke, R. H. Walters, P. Ogden, C. E. Lambert, T. Gracey, J. Hood, L. Hignett, A. C. Churchman, A. G. Jeffress, J. B. Cobb, P. S. Hill, G. G. Allen, S. J. Gillchrest, and C. T. Hill. Office: 86, Strand, W.C.—The company was registered September 29, 1902, to acquire the export businesses of, and the businesses outside the United Kingdom and the United States of America of the Imperial Tobacco Company (of Great Britain and Ireland), Limited; Ogden's, Limited; the American Tobacco Company and the Continental Tobacco Company ; the American Cigar Company; and the Consolidated Tobacco Company (the last four being registered under the laws of the State of New Jersey
  • British and Benington’s Tea Trading Association, Limited.—Directors: J. H. Moore (Chairman), C. O. Aldous (Secretary), F. Aldous, G. Benington, W. W. Corner, and F. A. Moore. Office: 118, Southwark Street, S.E.—The company was registered November 21, 1896, to take over the businesses of the British Tea and Trading Association, Limited, and Messrs. Benington Brothers and Corner. The authorised capital is £200,000, £100,000 being in 5 per cent, cumulative preference shares of £5, having also a priority as to capital, and £100,000 in ordinary shares of £1, and £75,000 of each class has been subscribed and called up. The accounts are made up annually to September 30, and submitted in November, and an interim dividend (in 1907 of 24 per cent.) is paid in May. For the year 1896-7 the ordinary shares received 74 percent. ;for 1897-8 and 1898-9, 6^ each year ; for 1899-1900, 64 ; for 1900-1, 7; for 1901-2, 6; for 1902-3, 5 ; for 1903-4, £3 6s. 8d. ; for 1904-5, £4 3s. 4d. ; for 1905-6, 6 ; and for 1906-7, 5. Reserve account, £21,005; carried forward, £1,427. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for every share of either class. Director’s qualification, £500 in shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Chinaman, London. Telephone number, 908 Hop. The preference shares are quoted in the official list; latest price, 4|.
  • British and Chinese Corporation, Limited—Directors: W. Keswick, M.P. (Chairman), C. S. Addis, Sir D. M. Barbour, K.C.S.I., Sir A. Colvin, K.C.S.I., W. W. Dickinson, and C. C. Macrae. Secretary: A. N. Frewer. Office: 22, Abchurch Lane, E.C.—The company was registered May 24, 1898, to carry on in China or elsewhere the business of contractors for public works, &c. The authorised capital is £250,000 in shares of £100, all of which has been subscribed, and £125,000, or £50 per share, called up. The accounts are made up annually to June 30, and submitted in November. For the period to June 30, 1899, a dividend of £5 per share was distributed on the then paid-up capital of £12,500. There was then no dividend until in respect of the year 1904-5, when 10 per cent, was paid ; for 1905-6 10 per cent, was again paid ; and for 1906-7, 15. Reserve fund, £20,000; carried forward, £12,402. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification. 10 shares. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Bicamerist, London. Telephone number, 366 Avenue. It is proposed to subdivide each existing share into ten of £10 each.
  • British Californian Oil Company Limited., London Agent: J. Shearer. London Office : 1 and 2, Broad Street Avenue, E.C. Head Office: California.—The company was formed in May, 1901, under the laws of California, to acquire about 11,300 acres of oil-producing lands in various districts of California, and in 1902 absorbed the Arizona Western Oil Company, owning or controlling oil-producing lands 2,000 acres in extent. In 1903 the share capital of $I,300,000 underwent conversion into preference and ordinary, and the authorised capital is now $1,500,000 in shares of $1, $1,000,000 being preference and $500,000 ordinary, and $800,000 of the preference and all the ordinary have been issued and paid up. The preference shares rank first for 6 per cent, cumulative dividends, and after-payment of a like rate on the ordinary, surplus profits are to be divided equally. There is no liability on the shares. The accounts are made up annually to May 31, and submitted in Los Angeles in July. Monthly dividends of 1 per cent, each were paid in July and August, 1901, and 2 per cent, per month from September, 1901, to June 30, 1903, both inclusive (on the then issued capital). The preference dividend of 6 per cent, per annum has been paid to the end of 1903, but there has since been no distribution on either class. No balance-sheet has yet been received, but this information is official. A register of shares is kept in London. Transfer form in London, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Nickel, London. Telephone number, 1345 London Wall.
  • British Central Africa Co, Limited.—Directors: J. D. Rees, C.I.E., M.P. (Chairman), C. F. Campbell, and E. C. A. Sharrer (Managing Director). Secretary: H. Folliott. Office: 20, Abchurch Lane, E.C.—The company was registered August 1,1902, to “construct, equip, maintain, and work railways, &c., carry on the business of general carriers, shipowners, also agricultural and mining developments in connection with their freehold lands in the British Central Africa Protectorate.” The authorised capital is £1,000,000 in shares of £1, of which £650,007 has been issued as fully paid up. There are also 5 per cent, first charge debentures to bearer of £100 each for £400,000, issued in February, 1903, at 96 per cent., the company having power to issue further debentures up to the nominal amount of the share capital. Interest is payable on the debentures June 1 and December 1, and they are to be repaid at par June 1, 1930, but the company reserves the right to redeem all or any of the debentures (now) at any time, at 5 per cent, premium on six months’ notice, and in the event of voluntary liquidation before June 1, 1930, the debentures are also to be redeemed at 5 per cent, premium ; the debenture holders in May, 1905, consented to the postponement until June 1, 1908, of the interest due from June 1, 1905, to December 1, 1907, both inclusive, and to an issue of debentures of £100 each to an amount not exceeding £350,000, ranking in priority to the existing debentures, and bearing interest at 5 per cent.; these debentures have been issued, with interest payable June 30 and December 31, and the principal redeemable December 31, 1933, from a cumulative sinking fund of 2 per cent, per annum commencing October, 1910, to be applied to drawings at par, or to purchases if at or below par. There is also a loan (secured on debentures as collateral) for £200,000. The company has taken over the undertaking of Sharrer's Zambesi Traffic Co, Limited, and is constructing a line of railway for the Shire Highlands Railway, Nyasaland, Limited, about 200 miles in length, connecting the Shire River with Lake Nyasa, in consideration of the payment by the railway company of £4,750 per mile in debentures of the railway company, and the whole of its authorised share capital of £100,000, besides the transfer of the land grant of about 269,000 acres, and the debentures of the British Central Africa Company are specially secured by the deposit with trustees of the debentures of the Railway company, besides the other assets of the British Central Africa Company, consisting of—the Nyasaland estates of about 372,000 acres, with buildings, coffee plantations, &c., thereon, and the land grant to be received in respect of the railway as above, the company’s flotilla of steamers, &c. The company is also engaged in the cultivation of cotton, tobacco, and coffee, and has trading stores. Power has been obtained to borrow a sum not exceeding £50,000, at a rate of interest not over 6 per cent., the same to be a charge on the undertaking ranking before the existing debentures and the prior lieu debentures. The accounts are made up annually to June 30, and submitted in January. For the year to June 30, 1906, there was a net profit of £8,437, while interest charges absorbed £33,933, leaving a debit to appropriation account of £17,482. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, 500 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Likangala, London, Telephone number, 8 Bank, Latest price of debentures, 25.
  • British Coalite Co, Limited.—Directors: C. Allen, Sir AV. H. Bailey, J. Conchie, A. C. Cory-Wright, A. G. Kitching, Sir AV, H. Preece, K.C.B., and H. W. Pugh. Secretary: A. Phillips. Office: 3, London Wall Buildings, E.C.—The company was registered June 14, 1907, to acquire patent rights for manufacturing and dealing in coalite in the United Kingdom, together with freehold sites at Barking and Wednesford. The authorised capital is £2,000,000 in shares of £1, £1,500,000 being ordinary shares, and £500,000 in deferred shares. The ordinary shares rank first for non-cumulative dividends of 6 per cent, per annum and surplus profits are to be distributed as to one half amongst the ordinary shares, and one half amongst the deferred shares. The ordinary shares have also a priority as to capital, and after repaying the deferred shares surplus profits are to be divided as to one half amongst the ordinary shares and one half amongst the deferred. Of the ordinary capital £750,191 has been subscribed and called up, the final instalment of 5s. per share having been due December 17, 1907, and the vendors were entitled to all the deferred shares (£250,000 so far issued to them). Voting power, one vote for every ordinary share, and three votes for every deferred share. Director’s qualification, 1,000 shares of either class. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. Telephone numbers, 291^ and 2913 London Wall.
  • British Columbia Canning Co, Limited.—Directors: J. H. Brodie, A. G. Kendall, and F. Praed. Secretary: D. G. Hotson. Office: 110, Cannon Street, E.C.—The company was registered March 1, 1889, to acquire established salmon fisheries and canning factories in the province of British Columbia, Canada, and was re-registered December 10, 1895, with a view of rearranging the capital and Extinguishing arrears of dividend on the preference shares. The authorised capital is now £40,000—£10,000 in 5 per cent, preference shares of £1 (cumulative from May 31, 1896), but with no distinctive rights as to capital, and £30,000 in ordinary shares of 15s. All the capital except £3,745 of the ordinary has been issued and paid up. There is also £12,900 (outstanding balance of £20,000) 5 per cent, mortgage debenture stock, towards the redemption of which up to £1,000 a year is to be applied after paying the preference dividend. The accounts are made up annually to May 31, and usually submitted in November or December, an interim dividend (in 1907 of 2| per cent.) being paid in June. For 1895-6 the ordinary shares received 5 per cent.; for 1896-7, 64; and for 1897-8, 1898-9, 1899-1900, and 1900-1, 5 each year. For 1901-2 only the preference dividend was paid; for 1902-3 and 1903-4 the ordinary shares got 5 per cent, each^year ; and for 1904-5, 1905-6 and 1906-7, 74. Reserve fund, £19,000; carried forward, £2,795. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for each share, ordinary or preference. Directors qualification, 200 shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed.
  • British Columbia Development Association, Limited.—Directors E. Collins (Chairman), T. Adams, J. H. Graham, M. Magner, J. J. Newbould, and C. H. Wilkinson. Secretary: A. Bolstom. Office: 114-15, High Holborn, W.C.—The company was registered May 19,1904, in reconstruction of a company of similar title, registered December 14,1895, to deal with public works, mining, and industrial rights in British Columbia, and generally in Canada and elsewhere. The authorised capital is £50,000 in shares of £1, of which £26,507 has been subscribed and called up. There is also 5 per cent, debenture stock, with interest payable April 1 and October 1. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and those for 1905 were submitted in November, 1906. For 1904 and 1905 5 per cent, was paid each year. General reserve fund, £2,522. The report for 1906 has not been received. Debenture interest has been paid to date. Voting power, one vote for Director’s qualification, 100 shares. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. address, Waltzing, London. Telephone number, 4616 Central.
  • British Cotton and Wool Dyers' Association, Limied —Directors: (Chairman and a Managing Director), E. Fletcher and J. Smethurst (Vice-Chairmen), J. Brown, R. G. Caldwell, J. Cunningham, W. Eckersall, H. Fletcher, R. Fletcher, A. Hamilton (a Managing Director), J. Hilton, C. R. Hindley (a Managing Director), D. Jopson, W. Kerr, J, L. Lee, A. Leyden, A. F. M’Callum, T. S. Macfarlane, R. S. Markendale, J. Murgatroyd, W. H. North, C. A. Palfrey, A. Reid, H. Robinson, J. W. Robson, J. Siddall, J. Slingsby, W. O. Smethurst, F. J. Smith (a Managing Director), and J. E. Turnbull. Secretary and Accountant: F. J. Twelves. Office: 22, Cumberland Street, Manchester.—The company was registered February 12, 1900, to amalgamate numerous businesses of companies and firms engaged in dyeing, bleaching, printing, and sizing cotton yarns, &c. The authorised capital is £2,000,000 in shares of £1, and £1,271,684 has been subscribed and called up. There are also—4 per cent, first mortgage debenture stock for £620,000 (part of a total authorised of £750,000), issued at par, and secured by a first mortgage on the freehold, copyhold, heritable, and certain leasehold properties, with interest payable June 30 and December 31, and the principal redeemable at the option of the company on six months’ notice, on or after January 1, 1920, at 105 per cent., or before that date at 110 per cent., while in the event of the company being wound up the stock, if the winding up commences on or after January 1, 1920, is to be redeemed at 5 per cent, premium, and if before that date at 10 per cent, premium ; 44 per cent, second mortgage debenture stock for £84,801, issued in March, 1904 (part of £100,000 authorised), with interest payable March 31 and September 30; and loans, at March 31, 1907, of about £77,000. The accounts are made up annually to March 31, and submitted in May. The first dividend on the ordinary shares was 24 per cent., paid for 1905-6. For 1906-7 there was no distribution, and after meeting debenture and loan interest the sum of £49,119 remained to be carried forward, including £33,467 brought into the accounts. Reserve fund, £30,000. An interim statement issued in November, 1907, showed a profit on the half-year to September 30 of £55,463 (increasing the credit balance brought forward to £104,582), while administration expenses, debenture interest, and other charges, with an appropriation of £12,500 to depreciation fund, absorbed £35,139. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, 1,000 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 28. 6d. per deed for shares, and Is. for debenture stock; the debenture stock is transferable in multiples of £1. Telegraphic addresses, Cobra, Manchester ; Cotton, Bradford; Undying, Glasgow. Telephone numbers, 6070-1-2 and 3, Manchester ; 3151, Bradford ; 06670, Glasgow. The shares are quoted in the official list. Latest prices—shares, 1 ; 4 per cent, debenture stock, 62^.
  • British Cotton Growing Association Directors: Sir A. L. Jones, K.C.M.G. Vice-President: Duke of Marlborough, K.G., Earl of Dudley, Sir F. F. Adam,. Kt., C.I.E., A. Emmott, M.P., and Sir W. H. Houldsworth, Bart. Secratary: J. C. Atkins. Office: Commercial Buildings, 15, Cross Street, Manchester.—The association was founded in June, 1902, with the object of extending the growth and cultivation of cotton in the British Colonies, Dependencies, and Protectorates, and on August 27, 1904, was incorporated under Royal Charter. The authorised capital is £500,000 in shares of £1, of which £257,120 has been subscribed, and £205,696, or 16s. per share, called up, the remaining 4s. per share being due October 31, 1908, but on some of the shares calls have been anticipated. In addition, 11,727 shares are shortly to be issued to certain parties. The liability of the shareholders is limited to the amount subscribed. The association may not declare any dividend or distribute any profits before the expiration of seven years from the date of the charter, any profits, in the meantime, to be applied in the furtherance and extension of the objects of the association. The accounts are in future to be made up annually to December 31, and submitted about March. At August 31, 1906, preliminary and other expenses figured as an asset for £65,368, an increase on the year of £25,538. Voting power, one vote for every share. Transfer form, common j fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Increase, Manchester. Telephone number, 5732 (National) Manchester.
  • British Cyanides Co, Limited.—Directors: A. M. Chance (Chairman), C. Wightman (Deputy-Chairman), K. M. Chance, C. F. Rowsell, A. G. Salamon, and E. Threlfall. Secretary: H. Button. Office: 49, Queen Victoria Street, E.C.—The company was registered July 1, 1904, in reconstruction of a company of similar title, registered June 11, 1894. The authorised capital is £80,000 in shares of £1, half ordinary and half 6 per cent, cumulative preference, with a priority as to capital, and ranking equally with the ordinary shares after 6 per cent, has been paid on the latter each year. The entire capital has been subscribed, all the ordinary and 12,500 preference being fully paid, and 27,500 preference having 163. paid. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in February. The preference dividend has been regularly paid, and for 1906 the ordinary shares got 3 per cent. No report has yet been received, but this information is official. Voting power, one vote for each share of either class. Director’s qualification, 500 shares of either class, to be acquired within one month of appointment. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Cyanobrit, London. Telephone number, 6273 Central.
  • British Doloment Co, Limited.—Directors: F. E. D. Acland, A. A. Baumann, J. C. Curtin, and W. B, Hopkins. Secretary: W. H. Stentiford. Office: 1, Broad Street Place, E.C.—The company was registered November 14, 1906, to acquire an invention for a patent flooring known as Doloment, The authorised capital is £30,000 in shares of £1, and the whole amount has been subscribed, and £25,750 called up, 13,000 shares having been issued credited as fully paid, and 17,000 shares having 15s. called. No further information is obtainable from the company, but this is official. Telegraphic address, Stentiford, London. Telephone number, 7676 Central.
  • British Dredging Co, Limited.—Directors: A. E. Tylor (Chairman), A. M. Eckford, and W. D. J. Meyer. Secretary: J. N. Scott. Office: 101, Leadenhall Street, E. C.—The company was registered September 17,1903, to acquire the sole right for working, throughout the British Isles and Colonies, the system of dredging known as the Fruhling system.
  • British Dyewood and Chemical Co, Limited.—Directors: M. Warburton (Chairman), J. Dawson, T. McArlv, E. Mucklow, W. R. Scott, and G. Sturdy. Secretary; H. A. Bridge. Office: 53, Bothwell Street, Glasgow.—The company was registered May 20, 1898, to acquire certain businesses of importers and manufacturers of dyewood and tanning materials, &c.
  • British East Africa Corporation, Limited.—Directors; Sir R. Moor, K.C.M.G. (Chairman), J. Auerbach, B. Crapper, J. A. Hutton, M. F. Kindersley, and T. Ritchie. Secretary: F. T. Pressland. O^e: 96, Gresham House, E.C.—The company was registered December 24, 1906, for the purpose of growing and dealing in cotton, fibres and rubber, and engaging in general agricultural, financial and commercial operations in British East Africa. The company is working in co operation with, and took over certain properties from, the British Cotton-Growing Association
  • British Electric Plant Co, Limited.—Directors: J. G. Stewart (Chairman), W. R. Dick, J. Guthrie, and T. E. Lander. Secretary: J. G. Williamson. Office: Alloa, Scotland.—The company was registered May 26, 1900, to establish and carry on works in Scotland for the manufacture of electrical engineering plant.
  • British Electric Transformer Co, Limited.—Directors: J. F. Albright, S. F. Beevor, A. F. Berry, A. M. Billington, F. J. Alarchment, E. Phillips, and J. W. Whittam. Manager: G. Berry. Secretary: J. C. Wrist. Offices: Hayes, Middlesex.—The company was registered February 10, 1903, to take over and extend the business of the British Electric Transformer Manufacturing Co, Limited, registered May 10, 1898
  • British, Foreign and Colonial Automatic Light Controlling Co, Limited.— Directors: Sir E. P. Wills, Bart., K.C.B, (Chairman), J. Gunning (Managing Director), C. J. Haydon and H. L. Riseley. Secretary: W. V. Jenkins. Office : 63, Victoria Street, Bristol. —The company was registered November 30,1905, to take over the goodwill of the Automatic Light Controlling Co, Limited, including the entire British, foreign and colonial patents and rights in respect of Mr. John Gunning’s inventions ‘ ‘ for lighting and extinguishing all descriptions of gas lamps at a predetermined time or predetermined times, and tor improvements in apparatus for opening and closing electric circuits at predetermined times
  • British Griffin Chilled Iron and Steel Co, Limited.—Directors: Sir D. Fox (Chairman), E. Kraftmeier, and W. .. F. Schneider (Managing Director). Secretary: R. Mitchell, Office: 139, Cannon Street, E.C.—The company was registered October 5, 1899.
  • British Indian Oil Mills, Limited.—Directors: Dr, J. H, G. Hill (Chairman), G. H. Brown, E, W. Lucas, and G. Watson. Acting Secretary: J. R. Hall. Office: 39, Victoria Street, S.W.—The company was registered March 22, 1902, to acquire the business of the United British Castor Oil Co, Limited, registered November 14, 1896, and another undertaking.
  • British Mannesmann Tube Co, Limited.—Directors; M. Steinthal (Chairman), S. Blau, N. Eich, G. Hethey (Managing Director), and C. J. Senfft. Office: Salisbury House, E.C.—The company was registered July 19, 1899, as the British Weldless Tube Co, Limited, to take over the business of the Mannesmann Tube Co, Limited, and in November, 1899, the name was changed as above.
  • British Match Co, Limited.—Directors: F. R. Boardman (Chairman), T. J. Edwards, and J. E. Glenister. Secretary: E. E. Budden. Office: 10, Southwark Bridge Road, S.E.—The company was registered November 26, 1901, to acquire from Mr. Louis Cobbaert, of Belgium, certain inventions relating to the manufacture of matches.
  • British Millerain Co, Limited.—Directors: J. Miller, J. H. Murgatroyd, and S. Rihan. Office: Croft Mills, Halifax.—The company was registered June 22, 1894, to take over the patents for Great Britain and other countries, together with the plant and machinery of the Millerain Syndicate, Limited. The patents relate to improvements in dyeing materials and imparting to them rain-resisting qualities. The authorised capital is £40,000 in shares of £1, and J^l,750 has been issued and called up. No further information is obtainable, but this is official. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, 100 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Millerain, Halifax. Telephone number, 295, Halifax.
  • British Moss Litter Co, Limited.—Directors: A. Love (Chairman), W. G. Brodie, G. Dove, F. Livingstone, W. A. Owston, Jun. (Managing Director), and W. Smith. Secretary: A. R. Abbott. Office: 61, Gracechurch Street, E.C.—The company was registered March 24, 1899, to take over the business and properties of a company of the same name, registered July 20, 1896,
  • British Mutoscope and Biograph Co, Limited.—Directors .• W. T. Smedley (Chairman), R, W. Jeffery, E. B. Koopman (Managing Director), and J. S. Whatton. Secretary: A. J. Kendrick. Office: 10, Bucknall Street, New Oxford Street, W.C.— The company was registered January 23, 1899, to take over the business of the Mutoscope and Biograph Syndicate, Limited, registered July 21, 1897.
  • British Nigerian Co, Limited,—In liquidation for the purpose of reconstruction. Liquidator: H. C. Howard, 70A, Basinghall Street, E.C.
  • British Oil and Cake Mills, Limited.—Directors: 11. C. Smith (Chairman), J. W. Pearson (Vice-Chairman and Managing Director), C. R. Beckitt, N. B. Foster (Assistant Managing Director), H. Holt, A. Lambert, F. C. Liversedge, E. Pearson, E. Robson (Assistant Managing Director), J. Stephen, J. Stuart, and J. B. Willows. Secretary: H. Chapman. Office: 29, Great St. Helen’s, E.C.—The company was registered July 8, 1899, to take over the businesses of several companies and firms of oil and cake manufacturers and oil refiners.
  • British Oxygen Co, Limited.—Directors : E. Elias (Chairman), A. Bremner, B. B. Ellice-Clark, C. Sharp, J. Sharp, and Dr. C. von Linde. Secretary: T. N. Hester. Office: Elverton Street, Westminster, S.W. Brin's Oxygen Co, Limited, was registered January 26, 1886, to acquire certain patent rights, and in 1906 the name was changed as above. In 1899 the capital was reduced and reconstructed, and the authorised amount is now £75,000 in shares of £5, of which £40,625 has been issued as 7| per cent, cumulative preference shares, and £32,015 as ordinary shares, all fully paid. Reports are not obtainable, but this information is official. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, £1,000 in either class of shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address, Brin’s Oxygen, London. Telephone number, 111 Westminster.
  • British Pluviusin Co, Limited.—Directors: W. Cherry, C. Esher, A. Hansel, F. Taylor, and G. H. Winterbottom. Secretary: W. H. Buckley. Office: 12, Newton Street, Manchester.—The company was registered October 26, 1899, to carry on a business of manufacturers of imitation leather, hospital sheetings, &c. The authorised capital is £110,000 in shares of £1, £30,000 being 6 per cent, cumulative preference, ranking pari passu with the ordinary shares (£80,000) in surplus profits after payment of 6 per cent, on both classes, and a priority as to capital, with participation rateably with the ordinary shares in the residue of surplus assets, after repayment of the entire capital. All the ordinary shares and £15,000 of the preference have been subscribed and called up. There are also debentures for £46,000. No further information is obtainable, but this is official. Voting power, one vote for each share, ordinary or preference. Director’s qualification, 100 ordinary shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Pluviusin, Manchester. Telephone number, 1567, Manchester.
  • British Power Co, Limited.—Directors: A. R. Holland (Chairman), G. L. Addenbrooke, T. O. Callender, W. S. B. McLaren, M. H. Robinson, H. Ruffer, and Sir R. H. Sankey. Secretary: G. D. Prince. Office: 53, Temple Chambers, Temple Avenue, E.C.— The company was registered January 16, 1900, as the South Wales Electrical Power Distribution Co, Limited, the name having been changed as above in May, 1903. The authorised capital is £250,000 in shares of £10, and to December 31, 1906, £62,650 had been subscribed and called up; at that date there was also debenture stock for £35,900, part of £50,000 authorised. No information is obtainable from the company. Voting power, one vote for every 100 shares. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d.
  • British Somaliland Fibre and Development Company, Directors: J. Hewitt (Chairman), Lt.-Col. J. S. Ashby, W. Smith, W. S. Sykes, and J. E. Whiting. Secretary: A. Walton. Office: 7, Bond Place, Leeds.—The company was registered December 12, 1905, to acquire from the Crown Agents for the Colonies, on behalf of the Government of the Somaliland Protectorate, a concession for the cultivation, production, and exportation of fibre in a prescribed district which embraces an area of about 10,000 square miles, and which may on certain conditions be extended to about 20,000 square miles.
  • British South African Explosives Co, Limited.—Directors: Lord Ribblesdale (Chairman), Sir R. D. Awdry, K.C.B. (Deputy-Chairman), Sir R. W. Anstruther, Bart., G. Aufschlaeger (Hamburg), Hon. T. H. A. E. Cochrane, M.Pv, A. Falcouz (Paris), Sir D. Fox, J. N. Heidemann (Cologne), T, Johnston, E. Kraftmeier, T. Menz (Dresden), E. Mueller (Berlin), L. C. G. Sartoris, T. G. Tulloch, and T. F. Walker. Manager and Seoi'ctary: F. C. Bourne. Office: 612, Salisbury House, E.C.—The company was registered September 3, 1902, to acquire a factory at Modderfontein, and is a reconstruction of a local concern. The authorised capital is £1,100,000, all of which has been allotted and paid up, £893,733, at the end of October, 1906, being represented by shares of £1, and £206,267 by stock. The accounts are made up annually to October 31, and submitted about May. The factory was taken over on October 31, 1902, and for 1902-3 3| per cent, was paid; 1903-4, the distribution was 4^ per cent.; for 1904-6, 5J ; and for 1906-7, 6^. Explosion, insurance and workmen’s compensation fund, ^11,500; carried forward, £67,251. Amount received from liquidators of old company in respect of surplus estimated to result from the liquidation, less preliminary expenses, £97,049 (the net surplus on the completion of the liquidation is to be carried to reserve) Voting power, shares Nos. 1 to 615,044 carry one vote for every 300 shares, and shares Nos. 615,045 to 1,100,000 one vote for every 100 shares. Director’s qualification, 1,000 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Warrants to bearer are issued for stock in denominations of £25, £5, and £1, on payment of the stamp duty, but the warrants for £5 and £1 each "are obtainable to only a limited extent." Telegraphic address, Noetico, London. Telephone number, 2149 Central.
  • British Sugar Co, Limited.—Directors: J. Buddle (Lima), A. B. Leguia (Lima), G. A. Lockett, R. C. Lockett, and W. J. Lockett. Secretary: J. Morris. Office: 12, King Street, Liverpool.—The company was registered May 26, 1900, to carry on the business of sugar planters in Peru. The authorised capital is £290,000 in shares of £5, of which £260,035 has been subscribed and paid up. There are also 5 per cent, first mortgage debentures of £100 each for £150,000, with interest payable June 30 and December 31, and redeemable at the option of the company at any time on six months’ notice, at 5 per cent, premium. The accounts are made up annually to June 30, and submitted in December. No dividend has yet been paid. No report has yet been received, but this information is official. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, 200 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d.
  • British Sulphides Smelting Co, Limited.—Directors: J. B. W. Maunder and Col. A, Le Messurier, C.I.E. Acting Secretary: A. W. Bennet. Office: 6, Great Winchester Street, E.C.—The company was registered May 3, 1899, for the purpose of acquiring the patent rights for the United Kingdom of the Sulphides Reduction (New Process), Limited, registered January 23, 1897, for the treatment of complex sulphides ores and erecting plant to operate the process on a commercial scale. The capital was largely increased in 1900, and the authorised capital is now £800,000 in shares of £1—£100,000 being in preference and £700,000 in ordinary. The preference shares are entitled to a cumulative preferential dividend of 10 per cent, per annum, after payment of which they rank for dividends pari passu with the ordinary shares. Of the ordinary shares, £300,000 was, under a contract which has lapsed, to be allotted fully paid to the vendor company, and of the preference shares, £50,000 has been subscribed, and £37,500, or 15s. per share, called up. No report ha.s yet been received, but this notice was last year officially revised. Voting power, one vote for every share, ordinary or preference. Director’s qualification, 1,000 shares of either class. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d, Telegraphic address. Convinced, London. Telephone number, 13339 Central.
  • British Tea Table Company (1897), Limited.—Directors; R. V. Greene, E. Rosling, and C. Sharpe. Secretary: G. Florence. Office: 51, Farringdon Road, E.C.—The company was registered June 12, 1897, to take over the businesses of Pearce's Dining and Refreshment Rooms, Limited, and the British Tea Table Co, Limited. The authorised capital is £300,000 in shares of £1, half being 5^ per cent, cumulative preference, having also a priority as to capital, and half ordinary, and £110,000 preference and £130,000 ordinary have been subscribed and called up. There are also 4| per cent, debentures for 1^1,600. The accounts are made up annually to March 31, and submitted in April or May. For the period to March 31, 1898 (about nine months), the ordinary shares received a dividend at the rate of about 10 per cent, per annum; for 1898-9, 11; for each of the four years to 1902-3, 12; for 1903-4, 11; and for 1904-5 and 1905-6, 4. For 1906-7 there was no dividend on either class of shares, and after meeting debenture interest, &c., a credit balance of £688 brought down was increased to £2,911. Reserve fund, £3,953, a reduction on the year of £3,046. Voting power, one vote for each share of either class. Director’s qualification, 5,000 shares of either class for first directors and 1,000 shares for other directors, held for three, months. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. Telephone number, 489 Holborn. Both classes of shares are quoted in the official list. Latest prices—preference, ; ordinary,
  • British Turpentine Corporation, Limited.—Directors: J. McCulloch (Chairman), W. Jaffrey, S. M. Stevens, and J. H. Tomlin. Secretary: P. F, L. Rackham. Office: Dawley Road, Hayes, Middlesex.—The company was registered November 7, 1904, to acquire the rights of a secret process for making turpentine substitutes. The authorised capital is £50,000 in shares of £1, all of which has been subscribed, and called up, 41,500 shares having been allotted to the vendor as fully paid. In December, 1906, a trust deed was registered to secure 6 per cent, debentures to bearer of £100 each for £2,000. No report has yet been received, but this notice has been passed as correct. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, 250 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d, Telephone number, 17, Hayes, Middlesex,
  • British Uralite Co, Limited.—Being wound up. Receiver: J. J. S. Davidson, 16, St. Helen’s Place, E.C.
  • British Vacuum Cleaner Co, Limited.—Directors: W. K. Pidgeon (Chairman), H. C. Booth, F. Clench, C. F. Hitchins (Managing Director), and O. P. Gray. Secretary: P.G. Harger. ; 25, Victoria Street, S.W. Head Office: Parsons Green Lane, Fulham, S.W.—The company was registered May 11, 1903, to acquire the business and assets of the Vacuum Cleaner Co, Limited, registered February 25, 1902, and acquired patent rights in various parts of the world. The authorised capital is £100,000 in shares of £1, of which £99,103 has been subscribed and called up, 65,000 shares having been issued as fully paid and 4,103 at a premium of 10s. per share. The accounts are now made up annually to September 30, and submitted in November or December. For the period of thirteen months to June 30, 1904, 5 per cent, (not per annum) was paid; and for 1904-5, 6. For the fifteen months to September 30, 1906, there was no dividend; and for 1906-7 5 per cent, was paid. Reserve fund, £8,000; share premium account, £2,051; carried forward, £202. The company is largely working through subsidiary companies. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, 100 shares. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic addresses. Aidful, London (Victoria Street); and A’acuumiser, London (Fulham). Telephone numbers, 4475 (Gerrard), Victoria Street, and 73 (Kensington) and 360 (Putney), Fulham. Shares numbered 1 to 95,000 and 95,501 to 99,603 are quoted in the official list; latest price, g.
  • British Wagon Co, Limited.—Directors: F. L. Harrop (Chairman), E. Drabble, J. Gibbs, H. Hart (Managing Director), C. H. Moss, and J. C. Smith. Secretary: A. H. Horsley. Office: 22, Moorgate Street, Rotherham.—-The company was established in 1869, in 1891 absorbed the Railway Rolling Stock Company, and on February 10,1898, was reregistered in connection with an increase of capital under the same title as before. The authorised capital is £1,000,000 in shares of £20, £800,000 of which has been subscribed, and £120,000, or £3 per share, paid up. The sum of £1,278 has been received in advance of calls, and there are debenture loans, deposits, &c., to the amount of £733,079. The accounts are now made up annually to December 31, and submitted in February. For 1898 the dividend was 12 per cent.; for 1899, 12J; and for each of the seven years to 1906, 15. Reserve fund, £117,000 ; carried forward, £317. On account of 1907 43. per share was paid in July. Voting power, one vote for each share. Director’s qualification, 100 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address, British, Rotherham, Telephone number, 267 (National), Rotherham. Latest price,
  • British Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Co, Limited.—Directors: G. Westinghouse (Chairman), J. A. Bryce, M.P., N. Carlton, Lt.-Col. M. Cradoek, C.B., and J. H. Lukach, the last three being Managing Directors. Secretary and Treasurer: A. E. Scanes. Office: Westinghouse Building, Norfolk Street, Strand, W.C.—The company was registered July 10, 1899, and acquired certain rights for the United Kingdom, its colonies, possessions, and dependencies, except in North America, from the Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing Company and the Westinghouse Machine Company of the United States, while the company has since acquired the right to extend their sales to South America. In order to reduce the book value of patents and goodwill, works and equipment, &c., and to extinguish the debit to profit and loss and the suspense account, the sum of £2 per preference share and £5 per ordinary share were in 1907 written off, the dividend on the preference shares being simultaneously raised from 6 to 10 per cent. The authorised capital is now £1,875,000, £1,500,000 being in preference shares of £3, and £375,000 in ordinary shares of £5 ; and the entire capital has been subscribed and paid up. The preference shares have a priority as to capital, are entitled to non-cumulative dividends at the rate of 10 (formerly 6) per cent, per annum before the ordinary, and, in addition, to one-fourth of the surplus profits in each year after payment of 12 (formerly 6) per cent, per annum on the ordinary shares. The vendor companies guaranteed that the profits resulting from the business in the first three years should amount to a sum not less than sufficient to pay the preference dividend (6 per cent.) for that period pending the completion of a factory. In February, 1902, £500,000 4 per cent, mortgage debenture stock was issued, and the amount now outstanding is £1,241,353, including £400,000 issued in the latter part of 1904 to the American Westinghouse Company, at 95 per cent., and £225,000 issued in 1906 to the same company, also at 95 ; interest is payable January 1 and July 1, and the stock is redeemable at any time after January L 1912, at the option of the company at 110 per cent, on six months’ notice, while in the event of liquidation it is to be repaid at the same price. The stock forms part of a total authorised of £1,462,500, and is secured by a specific mortgage on the land and buildings (the balance of £221,147 of debenture stock is held in reserve against a rent charge on the company’s freehold property). The accounts are made up annually to July 31, and submitted about December. For the period to July 31, 1900, there was a profit of £10,777? and to enable the full preference dividend to be paid the vendors contributed £11,774 under their guarantee; for 1900-1 the preference dividend was paid out of profits, and £18,908 carried forward; for 1901-2 the preference dividend was paid out of profits, £14,963 was applied in writing off preliminary expenses and expenses connected with the debenture issue, and £5,240 placed to reserve account; in 1902-3 the reserve was transferred to profit and loss, and with £60,000 special discounts allowed by the American company the preference dividend for the year was paid, a balance remaining of £1,144 being carried to reserve (the preference dividend for the year absorbed only £76,378); for 1903-4 there was no dividend on either class of shares, and after meeting interest charges (£35,545), writing off £10,500 for depreciation on machinery, &c., and absorbing the reserve brought forward of £1,144, there was a credit to profit and loss of £2,809; for 1904-5 after meeting interest charges (£41,236), and writing off £43,549 exceptional expenditure under the Mersey contract, £5,340 for the balance of exhibition and sundry expenditures brought forward, and £25,000 the proportion applicable to 1904-5 of experimental expenditure, &c., the credit balance brought forward was converted into a debit of £15,407; and in 1905-6 the debit balance was increased to £102,942, after meeting interest charges (£52,375), and including £42,790 “adjustment of working assets ascertained to date.” Further, in 1905-6 a suspense account, being the excess cost and experimental expenditures in the development of new types of apparatus, of £108,253 brought forward, was increased to £188,240. The above debits to profit and loss and suspense accounts were extinguished in the capital reduction effected in 1907. Voting power, one vote for every share of either class. Director’s qualification, £1,000 in shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address. Multiphase, London. Telephone number, 3261 Gerrard. The preference shares and debenture stock are quoted in the official list. Latest prices—preference, lie ; debenture stock, 60.
  • Briton Ferry Chemical and Manure Co, Limited.—Directors; E. A. Pontifex (Chairman), J. E. Champney, T. B. Reynolds, and J. Taylor. Secretary: P. J. Franks. Office: 9, Queen Street Place, E.C.—The company was registered October 28, 1886, for the purpose of collecting the sulphurous acid gas thrown off at the works of the Cape Copper Co, Limited. The authorised capital is £50,000 in shares of £1, of which £31,250 has been issued and paid up. The company holds a lease from the Cape Copper Co, Limited, under which the profits are (now) equally divided between this company and the Cape Copper Company. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in March. For 1897, 20 per cent, per annum was paid ; for 1898, 10 ; for 1899, 12| ; for 1900, 15; for 1901, 20; for 1902 and 1903, 124; for 1904, 74; for 1905, 8J; and for 1906, 5. Reserve fund, £4,000 ; carried forward, £1,681. On account of 1907 1| per cent, was paid in August. Voting power, one vote for every share, up to a maximum of 2,000 votes. Director’s qualification, 250 shares. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address, Shaft, London. Telephone number, 956 Bank.
  • Broadbent's Bon Marche, Limited. — directors: C. S. Broadbent (Chairman and Managing Director), W. R. Jones, A. E. Mercy (Secretary), and H. Pascall. Office: 19, Chapel Street, Southport.—The company was registered December 8,1896. The authorised capital is £33,375, £25,000 being in 6 per cent, cumulative preference shares of £5, having a priority also as to capital, £7,500 in ordinary shares of £1, and £875 in ordinary shares of Is. each, and all the preference and Is. ordinary shares have been subscribed and paid up. There is also a mortgage of £1,000. The accounts are made up annually to February 28, and submitted in April. For 1898-9, 74 per cent, was paid on the ordinary shares; for 1899-1900, 8 ; for 1900-1 and 1901-2 only the preference dividend was paid; for 1902-3, the ordinary got 124 per cent. ; for 1903-4, 25; and for 1904-5 and 1905-6, 334 each year. Special reserve fund, £623; carried forward, £134. No later accounts have been received ; it appears from a newspaper paragraph that for 1906-7 only the preference dividend was paid. Voting power, one vote for each share, ordinary or preference. Director’s qualification, £100 of share capital. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Broadbent’s, Arcade, Southport. Telephone number, 139, Southport.
  • Broadway Damask Co, Limited.—Directors: J. Gamble (Chairman), J. Hetherington, and T. C. Shillington. Office: Broadway, Belfast.—The company was registered July 3, 1877, to acquire the manufacturing business of Messrs. J. J. Shillington and Co. The authorised capital is £100,000 in shares of £25, all of which has been issued, and J^7,500 paid up, 3,000 shares being fully paid, and the remainder having £12 10s. paid. The company being regarded as a private one, no particulars as to dividends, &c., are obtainable, but the above information is official. Telegraphic address, Broadway, Belfast. Telephone numbers, 122 and 417, Belfast.
  • Brockie-Pell Arc Lamp, Limited.—Being wound up. Liquidators: R. Warner, 10, Walbrook, E.C., and D. Watson, 102, Charing Cross Road, W.C.
  • Brooke and Prudencio, Limited.—Directors: W. Stevens (Chairman), F. A. Cotterell (Secretary), C. Newth, and F. Prudencio (Managing Director). Office; 124-32, Newfoundland Road, St. Paul’s, Bristol.—The company was registered August 16, 1889, to take over two businesses of mineral water manufacturers. The authorised capital is £35,000 in shares of £5, of which £10,000 has been issued in 6 per cent, cumulative preference shares, ranking also for priority as to capital, and £13,500 in ordinary shares, all fully paid. There is also 5 per cent, debenture stock for £6,000 (balance outstanding of £10,000), with interest payable April 15 and October 15. The accounts are made up annually to September 30, and submitted in December. From the formation of the company to October 15, 1898, dividends of 10 per cent, per annum were paid; for the period to September 30, 1899, the distribution was 10 per cent. (not per annum), with a bonus of 2^ per cent.; for 1899-1900,1900-1, and 1901-2,10 per cent, was paid each year ; for 1902-3 and 1903-4, 8; for 1904-5, 6; and for 1905-6, 7. Reserve fund, £3,400 ; carried forward, £239. On account of 1906-7 3 per cent, was paid in May. Voting power, one vote for every share, ordinary or preference, up to 10, then one vote for every 5; maximum, one hundred votes. Director’s qualification, 100 ordinary shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Neptune, Bristol. Telephone number, 446, Bristol. Latest price of ordinary, 4§.
  • Brooke, Bond and Co., Limited.—Directors: A. Brooke (Chairman and Managing Director), G. Brooke, and C. A. Cecil Secretary: C. J. Gladwell. Office: 17-18, St, Dunstan’s Hill, E.C.—The company was registered June 4, 1892, to acquire the business of tea merchants, dealers, &c., of the firm of the same name. The authorised capital is £150,000 in shares of £1, and the whole amount has been issued and paid up. The accounts are made up annually to May 31, and submitted in June or July, an interim dividend (in 1906 of 5 per cent.) being paid in December. For each of the ten years to 1903-4 a dividend of 15 per cent, was paid, together with a bonus of 2| per cent, in respect of each of the four years to 1902-3; for 1904-5, 8 ; and for 1905-6 and 1906-7, 10 each year. Reserve fund, £144,000; insurance and contingency fund, £898; carried forward, £3,754. Voting power, one vote per share. Director’s qualification, 500 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 6d. per share, with a maximum of 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Assambrook, London. Telephone number, 556 Avenue. The shares are quoted in the official list; latest price, 2^.
  • Brookfield Linen Co, Limited.—Directors: J. Rogers (Chairman); F. S. Herdman and J. C. M‘Clung (Managing Directors) ; E. Bates, W. Eccles, J. Hogg, and W. McCausland. Secretary: T. Houston. Office: 30, Donegal Street, Belfast.—The company was registered July 25, 1866. The authorised capital is £600,000, £200,000 being in 5 per cent, cumulative preference shares of £10, and £400,000 in ordinary shares of £50, all of which has been subscribed, and 1^00,000 paid up, the preference shares being fully paid, and the ordinary having £25 paid. There are also deposits for £37,389. The accounts are made up annually to October 4, and submitted at the end of the same month, an interim dividend being paid in May. For ‘ ‘ thirty-four years the dividends averaged 5J per cent, per annum ” ; for 1895-6, 1896-7, 1897-8, and 1898-9, 4; for the seven years to 1905-6, 5; and for 1906-7, 7. Carried forward, £6,844. Reserve fund, £180,000. Reports are not obtainable, but this information is official Voting power, one vote for every £50 in the nominal capital of the company, but preference shareholders can only vote at meetings of their own class. Director’s qualification, 50 ordinary shares. Transfer form, special; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed, and Is. for each new certificate; separate deed required for each class of shares, and for each account. Telegraphic address, Brookfield, Belfast. Latest prices—ordinary, 22; preference, 11.
  • Brooks and Doxey, Limited. Directors: S. H, Brooks (Joint Managing Director), J. Brown, J. P. B. Glossop, F. G. Goodbehere (Joint Managing Director), and H. Webb. Secretary : J. B. Binns. Office: Union Iron Works, West Gorton, Manchester.—The company was registered April 22, 1898, to acquire the business of textile machinists of the firm of the same name. The authorised capital is £200,000 in shares of £10, half being 5 per cent, cumulative preference, having also a priority as to capital, and half ordinary, and power was taken to issue debenture stock for £100,000; all the shares and debenture stock have been subscribed and called up. The debenture stock was issued at par, carries 4 per cent, interest payable January 1 and July 1, is redeemable at the option of the company in whole or in part at 105 per cent, at any time after January 1, 1914, and is secured by a mortgage of the works and fixed plant. Further debenture stock may be issued on additional property being conveyed to the trustees to the extent of three-fifths of the cost of such additional property. The accounts are now made up annually to June 30, and submitted in August. For the year 1898 4 per cent, was paid on the ordinary shares; for the two half-years to December 31, 1899, 7^ per cent, per annum ; to June, 1900, 5; and to December, 1900, and June, 1901, only the preference dividend was paid. For the year 1901-2 debenture interest only was met, and after absorbing the reserve fund of £10,000, a credit balance of £75 brought down was converted into a debit of £30,336; in 1902-3, after providing for debenture interest and depreciation, the deficiency was increased to £45,053; in 1903-4 reduced to £32,886; in 1904-5 increased to £34,664; in 1905-6 reduced to £26,702; and in 1906-7, to £3,069. Voting power, one vote for every share, ordinary or preference. Director’s qualification, 100 ordinary or preference shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Union, Manchester. Telephone numbers, 2113 and 2306, Manchester. Latest prices—ordinary, S§; preference, 8|,
  • Brooks, Thomas and Co., Limited. — Directors: E. K. Gamble (Chairman), E. C. Brooks, W. J. Clayton, T. N. Hutton, and F. H. Warnock. Secretary: J. Stafford. Office: 4, Sackville Place, Dublin.—The company was registered May 3, 1898, to acquire a business of builders’ providers, &c. The authorised capital is £80,000 in shares of £1, half being 5 per cent, cumulative preference, with priority also as to capital, and half ordinary, and the whole amount has been subscribed and paid up. There are also cash deposits, the amount of which, however, is not stated separately in the balance-sheet. The accounts are made up annually to January 31, and submitted on the first working day in March. Since the formation of the company (to January, 1905) the ordinary shares have received TJ per cent, per annum ; to January 31, 1906, 5; and for 1906-7, 6J. Reserve fund, £8,000; carried forward, £4,053. On account of 1907-8 2^ per cent, was paid in September. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for every ordinary share or five preference shares. Director’s qualification, 500 shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 28. 6d. Telegraphic address, Brooks, Dublin. Telephone numbers, 2401 and 2402 (Sackville Place), 1906 (Counting House), 328 (Timber Store and Saw Mills), 1771 (Slate and Steel Joist Yard), Dublin. Latest prices—ordinary, 20s.; preference. lOs. 3d.
  • Broughton Copper Co, Limited.—Directors: L. Sumner (Chairman and Managing Director), J. H. Bibby, E. C. Clark, E. A. Critchley, G. FitzBrown, F. S. Manners, J. B. Mercer, and F. J. Siltzer. Secretary: R. Brown. Office: Broughton Copper Works, Manchester.—The company was registered June 18, 1897, to take over the business of a company of copper smelters and manufacturers of the same name, formed in 1864. The authorised capital is £238,000, £68,000 being in 5 per cent, cumulative preference shares of £1, and £170,000 in ordinary shares of £5, and the whole amount has been subscribed, and £204,000 paid up, the preference shares being fully paid, and the ordinary having £4 paid. There is also 4 per cent, first mortgage debenture stock for £150,000 (the total authorised), £102,100 having been issued in July 1897, at 102 per cent., and the remainder in May, 1907, in connection with the acquisition of additional properties, with interest payable March 31 and September 30, and the principal redeemable, in whole or in part, at 102 per cent., at the option of the company after January 1, 1917, on six months’ notice, any partial redemption being by drawings, while the stock is secured by a first mortgage to trustees of the freehold properties of the company; and a second mortgage debenture for £40,000, issued in 1907, and carrying 4| per cent, interest. Further information is not obtainable, but this notice is passed as correct. Debenture stock is transferable in multiples of £1. Telegraphic address, Copper Co., Manchester. Telephone numbers, 638 and 5198, Manchester. Latest price of debenture stock, 97.
  • Browett, Lindley and Co., Limited.—Directors: F. Hilton (Chairman), W. Browett, W. H. S. Craven, F. C. Gibbons (Managing Director), and A. Tongue. Secretary: T. C. Kay. Office: Sandon Works, Patricroft, Manchester.—The company was registered July 28, 1899, to take over the business of engineers of a private company of practically the same name, registered October 9, 1890. The authorised capital is £120,000 in shares of £1, half being 6 per cent, cumulative preference, having a priority also as to capital, and half ordinary, and £50,000 of each class of shares has been subscribed and paid up. There are also—5 per cent, first mortgage debenture stock for £30,000, issued in May, 1902, at par, with interest payable January 1 and July 1, and the principal redeemable at par on January 1, 1922, or on or at any time after January 1, 1912, at the option of the company, on six months’ notice, at 105 per cent., or in the event of a winding-up for the purpose of reconstruction or otherwise at the same price, or by purchase, the stock being secured by a first mortgage to trustees of the land, buildings, and fixed plant; and loans for £5,525. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in March. For the period to December 31, 1899, and for 1900 the ordinary shares received 8 per cent, per annum; and for 1901 only the preference dividend was paid. There has since been no dividend on either class of shares, but debenture interest has been paid to date. Debit to profit and loss at December 31, 1906, £15,368, as against £18,404 brought down. Voting power, one vote for every share, preference shareholders being entitled to vote only on questions directly affecting their rights. Director’s qualification, 500 ordinary shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. each transfer; debenture stock is transferable in multiples of £10. Telegraphic address, Sandon, Patricroft. Telephone numbers, 10 and 82, Eccles. Latest prices—preference, 10s. 6d.; ordinary, 4s.
  • Brown and May, Limited.—Directors: H. Fisher (Chairman), H. Blake, C. N. May, and D. Owen (Joint Managing Director and Secretary). Joint Managing Director without a seat on the board: R. C. Pessell. Office: North Wilts Foundry, Devizes.—The company was registered November 30, 1895, to acquire the engineering business of a firm of the same name. In May, 1906, 6s. per ordinary share was written off as lost, and the authorised capital is £30,500, £20,000 being in preference shares of £1, and £10,500 in ordinary shares of 14s., and the whole amount has been subscribed and paid up, the shares having been offered at a premium of 2s. 6d. per share. The preference shares rank before the ordinary for 6^ per cent, cumulative dividends, and have also a priority as to capital, while after payment of 8 per cent, per annum on the ordinary, and providing for a reserve fund, one half the surplus profits is to go to the preference shares and one half to the ordinary. There is also £15,000 in 5 per cent, first mortgage debentures of £100 each, redeemable at the option of the company in whole or in part, at 105 per cent., at any time. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted about April. For 1896 5 per cent, was paid on the ordinary shares; for 1897 the preference shares only received 5 per cent.; for 1898 there was no dividend on either class of shares; and for 1899 and 1900 the preference received 1| per cent, each year. There was then no dividend on either class of shares until in respect of the year 1906, when 1 per cent, was paid on the preference shares, thus leaving arrears on these shares amounting to 56 per cent. Carried forward, £57. On account of 1907 1^ per cent, was paid on the preference shares in September. Voting power, one vote for each share of either class. Director’s qualification, 250 shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Foundry, Devizes. Telephone number, 6, Devizes.
  • Brown Brothers and Co., Limited.—Directors: D. G. Brown (Chairman), W. G. Gibbons, and W. Sanderson, Secretary: F. Ramage. Office: 6, Alva Street, Edinburgh. — The company was registered November 30, 1901, to acquire the business of mechanical engineers, iron founders, &c., of a private company of the same name. The authorised capital is £160,000 in shares of £10, half being 5 per cent, cumulative preference, with a priority as to capital, and half ordinary, and the whole amount has been subscribed and called up. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in June. For 1902 10 per cent was paid; for 1903 and 1904, 7^ each year; for 1905, 10; and for 1906, 12|. Reserve fund, £11,000 ; carried forward, £8,665. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for each share of either class, but preference shareholders only vote on questions affecting their interests. Director’s qualification, 20 shares, ordinary or preference. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address. Hydraulic, Edinburgh. Telephone number, 16, Edinburgh. Latest price of preference, 9.
  • Brown Brothers, Limited.—Directors: W. Chamberlain (Chairman), J. S. Brown, A. Brown, and E. Brown (the last three being Joint Managing Directors). Secretary: C. E. Waller. Office: 22-30, Great Eastern Street, E.C.—The company was registered May 28, 1897, to take over the business of the firm of the same name, general hardware, cycle accessories, &c., warehousemen. The authorised capital is £250,000, £103,000 being 6 per cent, cumulative preference shares of £5, having also a priority as to capital, and £150,000 ordinary shares of £1, and the entire capital has been subscribed and called up. The accounts are made up annually to about December 21, and submitted in May. For 1897, 7| per cent, was paid on the ordinary shares; for 1898, 2^ per cent, (paid as an interim dividend); for 1899 and 1900, 2^ each year ; for 1901, 4 ; for 1902, 1903, and 1904, 6; and for 1905 and 1906, 5. Reserve fund, £20,127; carried forward, £2,455. Voting power, one vote for every share of either class. Director’s qualification, £1,000 of shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Imbrowned, London. Telephone numbers, 712 and 713 London Wall. The preference shares are quoted in the official list; latest price, 4|.
  • Brown, Hopwood and Gilbert, Limited.—Directors: T. Brown (Chairman), R. Craig, and J. W. Gilbert. Secretary: F. M. Morton. Office: St. Mary’s Buildings, Lench Street, Birmingham.—The company was registered June 21, 1898, to take over certain businesses of wholesale grocers, &c. The authorised capital is £80,000 in shares of £5, £35,000 being 5 per cent, cumulative preference, having a priority also as to capital, and £45,000 ordinary, and £32,500 preference and £42,500 ordinary have been subscribed and called up. The accounts are made up annually to the end of June, and submitted in September. For the period to June 30, 1899, and the six years to 1904-5, 7 per cent, per annum was paid on the ordinary shares, ?with a bonus of 5 per cent, in addition for 1904-5; for 1905-6, 10; and for 1906-7, 12|, including a bonus of 2^ per cent. Reserve fund, £12,000; carried forward, £2,685. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for every share of either class. Director’s qualification, 20 shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address. Grocery, Birmingham. Telephone number, 1255, Birmingham. Latest prices—preference 5^ ; ordinary, 6J.
  • Brown, Muff and Co., Limited.—Directors: C. J. Muff (Chairman), F. B. Muff (Secretary), H. Muff, G. Walker, and R. Walker. Office: 26, Market Street, Bradford. The company was registered April 19, 1905, to acquire the business of drapers and house furnishers of the firm of the same name. The authorised capital is £80,000 in shares of £1, £40,000 being (> per cent, cumulative preference, having a priority also as to capital, and £40,000 ordinary, and £32,500 preference and £25,000 ordinary have been subscribed and palled up. There is also £30,000 5 per cent, debenture stock. The accounts are made up annually to February 5. The company is regarded as private and reports are not issued, but this notice has been officially revised. Voting power, one vote for every share of either class. Director’s qualification, 100 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. fid. Telegraphic address, Bromuff, Bradford. Telephone numbers, 2891 (three lines), Bradford.
  • Brown, Stewart and Co., Limited.—Directors: W. A. Brown, W. G. Brown, J, H. Downes, A. C. Pirie, and R. Watson. Secretary: R. Bell. Office: Dalmarnock Paper Mills, Glasgow. — The company was registered November 18, 1892, to take over the business of papermakers of the firm of the same name. The authorised capital is £100,000 in shares of £10, half ordinary and half fi per cent, cumulative preference, the latter ranking also for priority as to capital, and power was taken to issue £60,000 in debentures. All the ordinary shares and one-third of the preference shares were taken by the vendors, and the remaining preference have been issued and called up. The debentures are of £100 each, and carry 5 per cent, interest, payable May 15 and November 11; £31,300 have been issued, repayable at Martinmas, 1912, at par, or sooner, at the option of the company, at 105 per cent., while £28,700 is held by the company’s bankers against an advance for £14,000, it being stiimlated that no dividend be paid on the shares until the loan is liquidated. The accounts are made up annually to the end of April, and submitted in July. For 1892-3 2 per cent, was paid on the ordinary ; for 1893-4 the preference shares received 3 per cent.; for 1894-5 and 1895-6 there was no distribution on either class of shares; for 1896-7 the preference shares received 3 per cent. ; for 1897-8 and 1898-9 a full year’s preference dividend was paid; for 1899-1900 and 1900-1 there was no dividend on either class; for 1901-2 a full year’s preference dividend was paid; and for the five years to 1906-7, for the reason given above, no dividend was paid on the preference shares, thus leaving arrears of .. per cent, on these shares. Carried forward, £47,835. In respect of the year 1906-7 there was a profit, after meeting debenture interest, of £7,832, which has been carried to a special reserve fund for renewal of the main drive, &c. Voting power, one vote for every share of either class. Director’s qualification,- 50 shares, ordinary or preference, held for three months. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. fid. Telegraphic address. Seventy-four, Glasgow. Telephone numbers, Y 344 (Corporation), and 3211 and 3212 (National), Glasgow. Latest prices—preference, 6; debentures, 84J.
  • Browne and Bagle, Limited.—Directors: W. H. Ash (Chairman), C. F. Addis, J. F, Lescher, F. Strachan, and C. H. Trimmer (Managing Director). Secretary: F. W. Rand. Office: 24, Coleman Street, E.C.—The company was registered February 20,1896, to acquire the business of wool warehouse keepers of the firm of the same name. The authorised capital is £250,000 in shares of £10, half being ordinary and half 5 per cent, cumulative preference, the latter having also a priority as to capital, and power was taken to issue debenture stock for £150,000; all the debenture stock, all the preference shares, and £100,000 of ordinary shares have been subscribed and paid up, the vendors having taken £33,000 of each class. The debenture stock carries 4 per cent, interest payable June 30 and December 31, is redeemable at the company’s option after March 1, 1916, at 110 per cent., and is secured by a mortgage under a trust deed. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in February. For the period to December, 1896, the ordinary shares received 7 per cent. ; for 1897, 8; for 1898, 5 ; for 1899 only the preference dividend was paid; for 1900 the ordinary shares received 2J per cent.; for 1901, 5; for 1902 only the preference dividend was paid ; for 1903 only a half-year’s dividend was paid on the preference shares ; and for 1904,1905 and 1906 only debenture interest was paid, leaving arrears of preference dividend of 17| per cent. Reserve fund, £434 ; carried forward, £2,526, including £1,888 brought down. Voting power, one vote for each share of either class. Director’s qualification, 100 shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed; debenture stock is transferable in multiples of £1. Telephone number, 4831 Central.
  • Brownlee and Co., Limited.—Directors: W. Forrest (Chairman), R. Brownlee, J. Forrest, J. Forrest, Jun., J. A. Reid, and J. B. Young. Secretary: D. Weston. Office : City Saw Mills, Port Dundas, Glasgow.—The company was registered March 23, 1896, to take over the business of timber merchants and saw millers of a company, of the same name. The authorised capital is £250,000 in shares of £10, £100,000 being 5 per cent, cumulative preference, having also a priority as to capital, and £150,000 ordinary, and the entire capital has been subscribed and called up. There is also 4 per cent, mortgage debenture stock for £100,000, with interest payable May 15 and November 11, and the principal redeemable at the company’s option after March 31, 1912, at 105 per cent, on six months’ notice; the stock is secured over certain heritable properties of the company. The accounts are made up annually to March 31, and submitted in June, lor the six years to 1901-2 the ordinary shares received 15 per cent, per annum, and in October, 1902, a bonus of £5 per share was distributed out of the reserve fund ; for 1902-3, 12| per cent, was paid; and for 1903-4, 1904-5, 1905-6, and 1906-7, 10. Reserve fund, £42,500; carried forward, £2,612. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for every share of either class. Director’s qualification, 30 shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 28. 6d. Telegraphic address, Brownlee, Glasgow. Telephone numbers. National, 906 four lines (Royal), Glasgow ; Corporation, 3437 and 5578, Glasgow. Latest prices—preference, llj; debenture stock, 95j.
  • Broxburn Oil Co, Limited.—Directors: Sir D. Richmond (Chairman), J. S, Dixon, J. Gemmell, N. M. Henderson, W. Love (Managing Director), and J. W. Stuart. Secretary: W. Montgomerie. Office: 28, Royal Exchange Square, Glasgow.—The company was registered November 6, 1877. In 1907 each ordinary share of £10, with £8 10s. paid, was subdivided into ten shares of £1, and the authorised capital is now £335,000, all of which has been issued—£100,000 in fully-paid 6 per cent, cumulative preference of £10, with a priority as to capital; and £235,000 in ordinary shares of £1, with £199,750, or 17s. per share, paid up. A sum of £10,000 has been borrowed. The accounts are made up annually to about the end of March, and submitted in May, dividends then declared being paid in equal proportions just after the meeting, and in the following December. For each of the three years to 1897-8 the dividend was 7| per cent.; for 1898-9 8|; for 1899-1900,15; for 1900-1, ; and for each of the six years to 1906-7, 15. Reserve fxmd, £50,430; carried forward, £2,504. Voting power, -one vote for each ordinary share. Director’s qualification, 1,000 ordinary shares. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address, Broxburn, Glasgow. Telephone numbers, 6160 (National) and 2516 (Corporation), Glasgow. Latest prices— ordinary, 2; preference, 12^.
  • Bruce Peebles & Co., Limited.—Directors: W. C. Peebles (Chairman), A. C. Peebles, R. S. Portheim, M. T. Pickstone, H. Mungall, and A. W. Tait (the first four being Managing Directors). Secretary: J. R. Peebles. Office: East Pilton, Edinburgh.—The company was registered June 24,1903, to'acquire the business of engineers of Messrs. D. Bruce Peebles & Co. The authorised capital is £300,000 in shares of £5, half being preference and half ordinary. The preference shares rank first for cumulative dividends of 6 per cent, per annum, and after payment of a like rate on the ordinary both classes participate rateably in surplus profits, with the proviso that the total dividend on the preference shares shall not exceed 74 per cent, per annum. It is provided in the articles of association that a sum of not less than 10 per cent, of the annual net profits, before paying the preference dividend, is to be set aside as a special reserve fund up to a total of £25,000, to be applicable for payment of the dividend on the preference shares. The preference have also a priority as to capital, and after repayment of the ordinary shares they are to participate in surplus assets up to a premium of 25 per cent. All the preference and £141,905 of the ordinary have been subscribed and called up, including 7,332 shares issued in June, 1906, at par. There are borrowing powers up to £200,000, and 5 per cent, debentures for £75,000 have been issued, with interest payable March 15 and September 15, and the principal repayable at par September 15, 1908. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in March. For the period to December 31, 1903, and the year 1904, 6 per cent, per annum was paid; on both classes of shares, for 1905, 64 per cent. ; and for 1906, 6 per cent. Special reserve fund, £11,556; general reserve fund, £27,000; balance forward, £6,772. No interim dividend was paid on the preference shares on account of 1907, it having been decided to deal with the matter on the closing of the accounts. Voting power, one vote for every ordinary share ; the preference shares have no voting power, unless the dividend is in arrear, or after three years the surplus profit is less than 25 per cent, of the amount of the dividend, or if nothing is carried to the reserve fund, or if the dividend is to be paid out of the reserve fund, or on a resolution to wind up or reconstruct the company or alter the capital. Director’s qualification, £1,000 of either class of shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 28. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address, Peebles, Edinburgh. Central, Edinburgh. Latest price of preference, 323.
  • Brunner, Mond and Co., Limited.—Directors: Rt. Hon. Sir J. (Chairman), Sir H. Bell, Bart., F. W. Brock, H. Brunner, J. Brunner, T. H. Forgan, D. B. Hewitt, M.D., G. Jarmay, B. L. Leesmith, A. Mond, M.P., L. Mond, E. S. Mond, R. Mond, H. A. Schellhaas, and F. Van der Straeten-Solvay (Brussels). Secretary: C. White. Office: Winnington, near Northwich, Cheshire.—The company was registered February 24, 1881, to take over the business of the firm of this name as alkali manufacturers. The authorised capital is £3,000,000, of which £1,962,870 has been subscribed in ordinary shares of £1, and £826,780 in 7 per cent, cumulative preference shares of £10, all fully paid, the preference shares having also a priority as to capital. The accounts are made up annually to March 31, and submitted in June. For the six half-years to June, 1896, and the nine months to March, 1897, the dividend was at the rate of 30 per cent, per annum; for 1897-8, 25; for 1898-9, 30; for 1899-1900 and 19004, 35 for 1901-2, 32i ; for 1902-3 and 1903-4, 30 ; for 1904-5, 35 ; for 1905-6, 68J (including a special distribution out of the reserve fund of 33/4j and for 1906-7, 30. Reserve, £800,000, after deducting £490,718 required for the special distribution for 1905-6; credit to suspense account, £100,000 ; carried forward, £41,963. On account of 1907-8 the ordinary shares received 15 per cent, in November. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for each ordinary or preference share. Director’s qualification, £1,000 nominal of shares, of which at least one-half must be in ordinary. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address. Crescent, Northwich. Telephone number, 1, Northwich. The company is quoted in the official list. Latest prices—ordinary, 5^; preference, 16.
  • Bryant and May, Limited.—Directors: W. A. Smith (Chairman), G. Bartholomew (Deputy Chairman and Joint Managing Director), O. C. Barber (New York), C. E. Bartholomew, R. J. Hardy, B. J. Pace, and G. W. Paton (Joint Managing Director). Secretary: W. J. Bessex. Office: Fairfield Works, Bow, E,—The company was registered June 12, 1884, to acquire, as from July 1,1884, the match manufacturing business of the firm of the same name. The business of the Bell and Black Match Co, Limited, was subsequently taken over, and in 1901 the business of the Diamond Match Co, Limited, was absorbed, and in connection with the latter operation the capital was largely increased and reconstructed. The capital of Bryant and May, Limited, was formerly £400,000 in fully-paid ordinary shares of £5, and that of the Diamond Match Co, Limited, £580,000 in fully-paid shares of £1, £180,000 being 6 per cent, cumulative preference and £400,000 ordinary. The capital of the amalgamated concern is now £880,000—£480,000 in preferred shares of £5, and £400,000 in deferred shares of £1, shareholders in Bryant and May, Limited, having received £400,000 in preferred shares; preference shareholders in the Diamond Match Co, Limited, £80,000 in preferred shares; and ordinary shareholders in the latter, £400,000 in deferred shares. The preferred shares rank first for 14 per cent, per annum, surplus profits going to the deferred ; the preferred shares have also a priority as to capital, and in the event of a final division of assets the deferred shareholders are to be entitled, in addition to receiving 20s. in the £1, to the whole of any reserves that may have been formed, surplus assets to be divided pro rata amongst each class of shareholders. An issue of £100,000 4 per cent, debenture stock (forming part of a total authorised of £250,000) was made in February, 1903, at 102 per cent., and the balance of £150,000 was issued in November, 1904, at 102 per cent. The stock is secured by a specific first mortgage on freehold and leasehold properties, has interest payable June 30 and December 31, and is redeemable in whole or in part at the option of the company on six months’ notice at any time after December 31,1910, at 105 per cent. Should the company at any time before December 31, 1910, enter into a binding agreement for the sale of the undertaking, or should the company at any time be wound up, or the security constituted by the trust deed become enforceable, any of the stock not previously redeemed is to be i>aid off at 105 per cent. The company has reserved the right at any time to acquire any of the stock by purchase or by tender. The object of the issue was to enable the company to acquire^ on equal joint account with the Diamond Match Company of Illinois, about 65,000 acres of pine lumber. The accounts are now made up annually to June 30, and submitted in August, an interim dividend (in 1907 of 3 per cent.) being paid on the deferred shares in February. For the three years to 1897, 17^ per cent, was paid each year; and for 1898, 1899, and 1900, 15. For 1901 the deferred shares received 3 per cent.; for each of the five years to 1905-6, 5; and for 1906-7, 6. Reserve funds, £210,000; carried forward, £12,223. The preferred dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for every deferred share and five votes for every preferred share; the preferred shareholders are not entitled to vote except on matters directly affecting their interests, or in the case of their dividend being two months in arrear. Director’s qualification, £500 of preferred or deferred shares. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed; debenture stock is transferable in multiples of £1. Telegraphic addresses, Brymay, London; Matches, Liverpool. Telephone numbers, 490 and 470 Eastern. The preferred shares and debenture stock are quoted in the official list. Latest prices—preferred, 12|; debenture stock, lOOJ.
  • Buchanan and French, Limited.—Being wound up. Liquidators: T. McLintoch and J. Macleod, 149, West George Street, Glasgow.
  • Buchanan's Flour Mills, Limited.—Directors: R. Buchanan (Chairman and Managing Director), J. Ingleby, and H. Lathbury. Secretary: F. A. Wilcox. Office: 8, Fenwick Street, Liverpool.—The company was registered November 25, 1897. The authorised capital is £185,000 in shares of £10, £80,000 being 5 per cent, cumulative first preference, £25,0^ 6per cent, cumulative second preference, and £80,000 ordinary, and the whole amount has been issued and called up. The preference shares rank for priority as regards capital in the order named. There are also—4 per cent, first mortgage debenture stock for £80,000; and loans, the amount of which, however, is not stated separately in the balance sheet. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted early in March. For 1902 and 1903 the dividend was 5 per cent, each year; for 1904, 10; for 1905, 20 ; and for 1906, 10. Reserve fund, £42,730 (in 1906 £50,000 was applied in extinguishing goodwill account); carried forward, £6,773. The first preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for every 5 first preference shares, and one vote for every ordinary or second preference share ; on questions of altering the articles of association, increasing or reducing the capital, or winding up, the first preference shareholders have one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, 50 shares of any class. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d.; debenture stock is transferable in multiples of £1. Telegraphic address, Flour, Liverpool. Telephone number, 8097 (Central), Liverpool. Latest price of first preference, 9.
  • Buchholtz and Co., Limited.—Directors: A. Buchholtz (Chairman), H. H. B. Duden (Secretary), W. N. Filsell, T. Gardner, and P. E. Pearce, Office; 38, St. _ Paul’s Churchyard, E.C.—The company was registered November 26, 1900, to acquire the businesses of real and imitation lace and curtain manufacturers of Messrs. A. W. Buchholtz and Co., of London, and Messrs. Buchholtz and Co., of Brussels. The authorised capital is £150,000 in shares of £1, half being 5| per cent, cumulative preference, having a priority also as to capital, and half ordinary, and the whole amount has been subscribed and called up. The accounts are made up annually to June 30, and submitted in September, an interim dividend (in 1906 of 5 per cent.) being paid. For the years 1901-2, 1902- 3, 1903-4, 1904-5, and 1905-6, the ordinary shares received 10 per cent, per annum. Reserve fund, £3,193; carried forward, £571. The report for 1906-7 has not been received. The preference dividend is paid half-yearly. Voting power, one vote for each share of either class, but preference shares only vote under special conditions. Director’s qualification, £1,000 in shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Buchholtz, London. Telephone number, 2790 Central.
  • Buckley and Nunn, Limited.—Directors : R. Reid (Chairman), W. E. Bates, P. H. Nunn, A. M. Reid, W. Thomson, G. Wright, J. Wright, W. Dew, and J. Hastings (all except the two last-named and the chairman being resident in Australia). Secretary: G.P. Hall. Office: 19, Chiswell Street, E.C.—The company was registered May 7, 1902, to acquire the business of general drapers, outfitters, &c., of Buckley and Nunn Proprietary, Limited, an Australian company. The authorised capital is £170,000 in shares of £1, all of which has been subscribed and paid up. There is also 5 per cent, first mortgage debenture stock for £130,000, issued at par, secured on the freehold properties of the company, with interest payable April 10 and October 10, and the principal repayable at par April 10, 1928, with the option to the company to redeem in whole or in part (now) on six months’ notice at 105 per cent., while in the event of the stock becoming repayable owing to the liquidation of the company it is to be redeemable at 105 per cent. The accounts are made up annually to July 10, and submitted in September, an interim dividend (in 1907 of 4 per cent.) being paid in February. For the period to July 10, 1903, a dividend of 6J per cent, (actual) was paid; for 1903-4, 6^; for 1904-5, 7^ 5 and for 1905-6 and 1906-7, 10. Special reserve fund, £8,304; carried forward, £6,314. Voting power, one vote for each share. Director’s qualification, £250 in shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. ; debenture stock is transferable in sums of £1 and multiples. Telegraphic address, Equivocal, London. Telephone number, 10858 Central. The debenture stock is quoted in the official list; latest price, 98J.
  • Buller & Co., Limited.—Directors: G. C. Buller, W, A, H. Buller, E. T. A. Hooker, and R. Mayer. Secretary: I. N. Cameron. Office: 6-8, Charterhouse Street, E.C.— The company was registered December 22, 1903, to acquire a business of manufacturing jewellers of the firm of the same name. The authorised capital is £175,000 in shares of £1, £100,000 being in 5 per cent, cumulative preference, having a priority also as to capital, and £75,000 in ordinary, and all the preference shares and £58,692 of the ordinary have been subscribed and called up, all the shares except seven ordinary having been issued as fully paid. There is also ^0,000 debenture stock, secured on the entire undertaking. The accounts are made up annually to June 30. Debenture interest is paid to date. The company being of a private character further information is not obtainable, but this is official. Voting power, one vote for every share, but preference shareholders only vote under special circumstances. Director’s qualification, 500 shares. Transfer form, common ; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Rascazon, London. Telephone number, 321 Holbom.
  • Bullers, Limited.—Directors: A. K. Tharp (Chairman), E. H. Chambers, E. J. Chambers (a Managing Director), H. C. R. Dagnall (a Managing Director), J. T. Harris, and J. W. Harris (a Managing Director).. Secretary: T. H. Simmonds. Office: Tipton, Staffordshire.— The company was registered May 10, 1899, to take over the business of telegraphic engineers, ironfounders, &c., of a private company of the same name, registered March 9, 1896.
  • Bulloch Brothers and Co., Limited.—Directors: W. C. Grieve (Chairman), W. G. Keddie (Deputy-Chairman), D. R. Cameron, C. C. Ellis, C. Gairdner, W. F. Halliday, and C. M. Somerville. Office: 13, Fenchurch Avenue, E.C. — The company was registered November 28, 1894, to acquire the business of rice merchants, engineers, &c., of Messrs. Bulloch Brothers and Co., in India, and J. and G. Bulloch and Co., of London.
  • Bunney's, Limited.—Directors: A. H. Bunney (Chairman), E. H. Bunney, P. G. Bunney, andT. Goffey. Secretary: G. Marshall. Office: 3, Church Street, Liverpool.—The company was registered November 28,1896, to acquire the business of fancy goods and hardware dealers, carried on by Mr. A. H. Bunney.
  • Burgis and Colbourne, Limited.—Directors: C. R. Burgis (Chairman), J. M. Molesworth (Vice-Chairman), J. Colbourne, R. J. Colbourne (Joint Managing Director), and E. J. Smith (Joint Managing Director). Secretary: J. F. Burgis. Office: 6, Clarence Terrace, Leamin^on. —The company was registered May 31, 1897, to acquire, as from April 29,1897, the business of grocers, &c., of the firm of the same name.
  • Burgon and Ball, Limited.—Directors: H. Barber (Chairman), B. Hind (Managing Director), and J. Hind (Works Manager). Secretary: J. H. Baines. Office: La Plata Works, Malin Bridge, Sheffield.—The company was registered June 21, 1898, to acquire the business of manufacturers of sheep-shearing machines, &c., of the firm of the same name.
  • Burma Rice and Trading Co, Limited.— Directors: G. Gillespie {Chairman), A. Classen (Hamburg), A. Dreier (Managing Director), D. H. Finke (Bremen), W. Halliday, H. C. Kalisen (Bremen), IV. Keswick, M.P., A. Rickmers (Bremen', and H. F. Upniann (Bremen). Sec^'etary; W. J. Ninnes. O.ffice: 69-70, Mark Lane, E.C.—The company was re^stered September 17, 1907.
  • Burmah Oil Co, Limited. —Directors: J. T. Cargill (Chairman), R. IV. Adamson, M. T. Fleming, R. Gourlay, L. Gow, J. Hamilton (Manager), J. Innes, R. King, and C. W. Wallace. Secretary: F. G. Holdsworth. Registered Office: 175, West George Street, Glasgow. London Office: Palmerston House, E.C.—The company was registered May 15, 1902, to take over a company of the same name, registered July 22, 1886.
  • Burnard and Alger, Limited. —Directors: W. H. Alger (Chairman), H. Alger, and R. Burnard (Managing Directors), and L. F. Burnard. Office: Cattedown, Plymouth.— The company was registered September 19, 1890, to take over the business of chemical manufacturers previously carried on under the style of Burnard, Lack and Alger, and also the business of wharfingers and warehousemen carried on under the style of Burnard and Alger. The authorised capital is £200,000 in shares of £100—£150,000 in ordinary and £50,000 in 5 per cent, cumulative preference, and £50,000 ordinary and all the preference have been issued, the ordinary having £75 per share paid, and the preference being fully paid. The company is of a private character, and no further information is obtainable, but the above is official. Telegraphic address, Burnard Alger, Plymouth. Telephone numbers, 57 (Works) and 230 (Wharves), Plymouth.
  • Burnell and Co., Limited. — Directors: W. Ward (Chairman), H. W. Boultbee (Joint Managing Director), W. S. Edge, and E. Newall (Joint Managing Director). Secretary: T. C. Herdman. Office: 4, Tabley Street, Liverpool.—The company was registered April 28, 1900, to acquire the business of manufacturers of galvanised sheets, &c., of the firm of the same name. The authorised capital is £130,000 in shares of £1, £80,000 being preference and £50,000 ordinary, and the whole amount (except £20 of preference and £2,405 of ordinary) has been subscribed and called up. The preference shares are entitled to a cumulative dividend of 6 per cent, per annum, and have a priority as to capital, with the right to participate pari passu with the ordinary shares in surplus assets after the redemption of the entire capital, to the extent of a bonus of 10 per cent. It is provided by the articles of association that after payment of the preference dividend a sum equal to at least 5 per cent, of the remaining net profits shall be carried to a special preference dividend guarantee reserve fund up to a maximum of £9,600, and it is further provided that after such reserve fund has reached the sum of £9,600, not less than 5 per cent, of the remaining net profits shall be annually carried to general reserve until a sum of at least £10,000 has been reached. The accounts are made up annually to December 31, and submitted in February. A dividend of 5 per cent, was paid on the ordinary for 1900. For 1901 only 2 per cent, was paid on the preference shares; out of the profits for 1902 7 per cent, was paid on the preference shares; from the profits of 1903, 6; from the profits of 1904, 9 (clearing off all arrears), but nothing was paid on the ordinary ; for 1905 7i per cent, was paid on the ordinary shares ; and for 1906, 12J, including a bonus of 2J per cent. Special reserve fund for preference dividends, £1,658 ; general reserve, £15,000; carried forward, £4,576. On account of 1907 7^ per cent, was paid in August. Voting power, one vote for ever^ share, but preference shareholders only vote on matters affecting their interests. Director s qualification, 500 shares of either class. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegraphic address, Burnell, Liverpool. Telephone number, 905 (Central), Liverpool. Latest prices —ordinary, 32s. ; preference, 19s. 4d.
  • Burnley Paper Works Co, Limited.—Directors: J. Bradley (Chairman), J. Addison, J. Barnes, J. Hacking (Secretary), Dr. J. Parks, and C. Thornber. Office: Calder Vale, Burnley.—The company was registered April 10, 1875. The authorised capital is £50,000 in shares of £5, of whicli £49,710 has been subscribed, and £39,768, or £4 per share, called up, the sum of £499 having been received in advance. The accounts are made up annually to August 31, and submitted in September, an interim dividend (in 1907 of 5 per cent.) being paid in March. For 1894-5 and 1895-6, 6s. per share was paid each vear; for 1896-7 and 1897-8, 8s.; for 1898-9, 10s. 6d.; for 1899-1900, 12s.; and for 19(X)-1, 1901-2, 1902-3, 1903-4, and 1904-5, 10s. ; and 1905-6 and 1906-7, 8s. Eeserve fund, £4,800; carried forward, £10,122. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, 50 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. Telegrapliic address. Paper Company, Burnley. Telephone number, 81 Burnley. Latest price, 6J.
  • Burroughes and Watts, Limited.—Directors: James S. Burroughes (Chairman), L. H. J. Burroughes, J. E. Abbott, S. J. Dicksee, and C. P. Lidbetter. Secretary : C. T. P. Trotman. Office: 19, Soho Square, W.—The company was registered July 30, 1891, to take over the business of the firm of the same name, billiard-table manufacturers.
  • Burrough’s Adding and Registering Machine Co, Limited. — Directors ; Sir J. Turney, Kt. (Chairman), A. T. Ashwell, A. H. Bird, and W. J. Cannon. General Manager: E. Avery. Secretary: W. H. Langford. Office: 158, Arkwright Street, Nottingham. — The company was registered December 9, 1898, to acquire the business of a company of the same name, registered August 1, 1895.
  • Burt, Boulton and Haywood, Limited.—Directors: Sir S. B. Boulton, Bart. (Chairman and Permanent Director), H. E. Boulton, O. E. Boulton, C. B. Haywood, and F. Murison. Secretary: T. S. Boulton. Office: 64, Cannon Street, E.C.—The company was registered August 3, 1898, to take over the business of a firm of the same name, timber merchants and sawmill proprietors, tar distillers, and chemical manufacturers.
  • Burton, Son and Sanders, Limited. —Directors.- B. H. Burton, W. P. Burton, W. O. Jolly, F. E. Leighton, E. J. Sanders, and G. A. Scott. Secretary: H. C. Warren. Office: 8, College Street, Ipswich.—The company was registered June 4, 1897, to acquire the business of wholesale grocers, provision merchants, &c., of Messrs. Burton and Son, of Ipswich, and Messrs. Evatt Sanders and Son, of Colchester.
  • Bury Paper Making Co, Limited.—Directors: J. Preston (Chairman), IT. Anderson (Managing Director), J. N. Bentley, J. Clough, W. Duckworth, N. J. Horner, and J. Singleton. Secretary: H. Riley. Office: Gigg, Bury, Lancashire.—The company was registered April 19, 1875, as the Bury Paper Making and Cotton Spinning and Manufacturing Co, Limited, but in August, 1904, the name was changed as above.
  • Burys and Co., Limited.—Directors: W. Armistead, R. S. Boddington, F. Fowler, and G. Rhodes. Secretary: J. T. Miller. Office: Regent Works, Sheffield.—The company was registered September 11, 1890, to acquire the business of the firm of the same name, steel, file and tool manufacturers.
  • Butler's Wharf, Limited.—Directors: H, Earnshaw, H. Lafone (Managing Director), R. B. Magor, F. A. Roberts, and J. Alston. Office: Shad Thames, S.E.—The company Was registered May 26, 1892. The authorised capital is £45,000 in £10 shares, of which £41,110 has been issued, and paid up. Reports are not obtainable, but this information is official. Telephone number, 9553 Central.
  • Buxton Lime Firms Company. Limited.—Directors: Col. A. C. Cantrell-Hubbersty (Chairman), F. G. Arkwright, W. Brierley, J. Heathoott, H. A. Hubbersty, J. J. Lees, T. Ryan, W. Spencer, and J. Wainwright. Secretary: X. Schofield. Office: The Quadrant, Buxton. The company was registered October 28, 1891, to acquire certain businesses of lime burners, &c. The authorised capital is £600,000 in shares of £10, of which £455,000 called up. There are also 5 per cent, registered debentures of £100 each for £152,800, with interest payable by warrant January 1 and July 1, while the debentures are redeemable at par on or after December 31, 1912, at the company’s option on SIX months’ notice. Other loans for £22,580 have been obtained. The accounts are now rnade up annually to June 30, and submitted in September, an interim dividend (in 1907 being paid in March. For the seven half-years to June 30, 1901, and for 1901-2, 1902-3, and 1903-4, 5 per cent, per annum was paid; for 1904-5, 3^ ; for 1905-6, 4|; and for 1906-7, 5. Reserve for equalisation of dividends, £26,000; carried forward, £13,160. Voting power, one vote for every share. Director’s qualification, 200 shares. Transfer form, common; fee, 2s. 6d. per deed. Telegraphic address, Buxton Lime, Buxton. Telephone number, 31, Buxton. Latest prices—ordinary, 6|; debentures, -87^.


See Also

Loading...

Sources of Information